7 Continents & Africa

7 Continents 2016

It a my pleasure to meet Dorothee, whom I look forward to knowing.  She started as a strongly-connected hostess, answering comments.  I read that she is a cancer survivor;  awful for anyone of any age.  It is special for me that she is German.  Thar is one country of my heritage I have not seen.  Even though I speak and read the language mildly, I feel there’s something magical about befriending a German, in the country.  It is as if German friends bring a stronger piece of heritage to me.

A very happy benefit is, as a third generation Canadian RIEDEL:  I will get a break from misspellings and mispronunciations of my name!  In German-speaking countries, it is common;  the opposite of my constantly-correcting experience here!  Go on, English-speaking friends:  guess how these six little letters are supposed to be pronounced.  The goal of 7 Continents is easy on the surface:  only 7 books from each continent, with permission to replace the seldom lived-in Antartica.  That can be a book in which there is travel between any continents.

My rule is that I always draw my literature from our library.  With about 3,000 unread books here at our home – I have not counted – I can fulfill any requirements.  I will see if something connects with Antarctica.  Dorothee’s twist, to challenge us, is that authors be from the continents.  That’s a little trickier than selecting any old book depicting a country but I can do it and will keep adding literature that applies!  It is my way to keep surpassing limits all year, with whatever I find.  Please revisit my post to see the list I build.
~~~~

Mystery Of The Strange Traveler”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1949  JAPAN
Shaku Of Wondrous Grace”  Art Miki, Henry Kojima, Sylvia Jansen  2007  JAPAN
The Divali Story”  Anita Ganeri, Carole Gray  2003  INDIA

Tiktala”  Margaret Shaw-MacKinnon, Laszlo Gal  1996  CANADA
Always Looking Up”  Michael J. Fox  2009  CANADA
An Inquiry Into Love And Death”  Simone St. James  2013  CANADA

The Bassumtyte Treasure”  Jane Louise Curry  1978  UNITED STATES
Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library”  Chris Grabenstein  2013  UNITED STATES
The Kingdom”  Amanda Stevens  2012  UNITED STATES

Jack’s Basket”  Alison Catley  1987  ENGLAND
The Mousehole Cat”  Antonia Barber, Nicola Bayley  1990  ENGLAND
Property Of A Lady”  Sarah Rayne  2011  SCOTLAND

The Midnight Side”  Natasha Mostert  2000  SOUTH AFRICA
Season Of The Witch”  Natasha Mostert  2007  SOUTH AFRICA
Zoom Upstream”  Tim Wynne-Jones, Eric Beddows  1992  EGYPT

The Forgotten Garden”  Kate Morton  2008  AUSTRALIA
Human Croquet”  Kate Atkinson  1997  AUSTRALIA
The Ghost Writer”  John Harwood  2004  AUSTRALIA
Mansion Of Menace”  Caroline Farr (Richard Wilkes-Hunter)  1976  AUSTRALIA

The LLama’s Secret”  Argentina Palacios, Charles Reasoner  1993  PANAMÁ
Throw Your Tooth On The Roof”  Selby B. Beeler, G. Brian Karas  1998
LOT OF SOUTH AMERICAN CONTENT

The Etruscan Chimera”  Lyn Hamilton  2002  CANADA, IRELAND, ITALY
Gatekeepers”  Robert Liparulo  2008  TRANSCONTINENTAL & TIME TRAVEL
The Reef”  Nora Roberts  1998  PACIFIC & WIDESPREAD TRAVEL
A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Future”  Michael J. Fox  2010
UNITED STATES to BHUTAN
The Forgotten Door”  Alexander Key  1965  ANOTHER PLANET to United States.

~~~~

Kinna is a lovely, popular advocate of African and women’s literature, in Ghana.  I am rejoining her a second time, in eagerness to exceed the four books I contributed last year.  She asks for five books pertaining to Africa, with a request that three be written by Africans and not merely depicted there.  That is her twist that challenges me but drawing literature from our home library, I can do it!

Below, I will build a list of everything about Africa that I read in 2016.  It is always my intention to keep on reading beyond minimum instructions.  I must have other African-born authors but will read more by Natasha if need be.  It is handy that Margaret, from my province, lived in Africa with her husband for a few years.  Between the two, we have Kinna’s African-born literary content.

The Midnight Side”  Natasha Mostert  2000  SOUTH AFRICA
Season Of The Witch”  Natasha Mostert  2007  SOUTH AFRICA
The Mummy Case”  Elizabeth Peters  1985  EGYPT
Zoom Upstream”  Tim Wynne-Jones, Eric Beddows  1992  EGYPT
The Curse Of The Blue Figurine”  John Bellairs  1983  NUBIA

I achieved two books by African-born authoress Natasha Mostert.  Two stories are located in Egypt.  John Bellairs’s American adventure features a Kush figurine called an “ushabti”.  That makes five, baby!  C’est un fait accompli.

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music, and free spirituality. I write varieties of articles, host activities, and in special cases I make friends! Surrounding ourselves with good people and animals is a delight.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)