Last group of the year: Europe

European Reading

 

I object to calling Wales, Scotland, Ireland, and England one country.  They’re wonderfully diverse but this is a creative circle I happily board while it’s still 2012.  The hostess doesn’t enforce lumping the United Kingdom and I applaud her extension to January 31, 2013.  Too many terminate on new year’s eve and should re-think that.  Start elsewhere in the year, like the Canadian challenge.

I dislike end dates on the mind, especially over Christmas.  I feel like a university student, racing deadlines;  which I’m truly doing with back-to-back novels, day & night this week!  However I’m proud of personal achievements and the adrenaline, because I was unfamiliar with reading activities until more than halfway through the year.  Starting with the public on month #1 will be a breeze.  :-)

 

LEVELS OF PARTICIPATION
Five Star (Deluxe Entourage):  5 European authors, or 5 different countries
Four Star (Honeymooner):  read four qualifying books.
Three Star (Business Traveler):  read three qualifying books.
Two Star (Adventurer):  read two qualifying books.
One Star (Pensione Weekender):  read just one qualifying book.

 
Jet Setter Grand Prize
The participant who reads and reviews the greatest number of qualifying books (more than five) will get a $25-equivalent gift card to Book Depository.

* I’m uncertain this bonus activity is different from “deluxe entourage” of five books but these are my aim.  I have a month to achieve more countries.  :)  Happy new year to everybody!

 
The Maltese Goddess”  Lyn Hamilton  1998  –MALTA
In The Stone Circle”  Elizabeth Cody Kimmel  1998  –WALES
Black Amber”  Phyllis A. Whitney 1964  –TURKEY
This Year It Will Be Different”  Maeve Binchy  1996  –IRELAND
Thunder On The Right”  Mary Stewart 1957  –FRANCE
Home For A Spell”  Madelyn Alt  2011  –GERMANY

Uncertain Voyage”  Dorothy Gilman 1967  –SPAIN
Hercules & Other Tales From Greek”  Olivia E. Coolidge 1949  –GREECE
The Mysterious Affair At Styles”  Agatha Christie  1920  –ENGLAND
The Salzburg Connection”  Helen MacInnes  1968  –AUSTRIA
A Study In Scarlet”  Arthur Conan Doyle  1887  –SCOTLAND

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music, and free spirituality. I write varieties of articles, host activities, and in special cases I make friends! Surrounding ourselves with good people and animals is a delight.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Last group of the year: Europe

  1. rosecityreader says:

    Congratulations for finishing the challenge. You made the Honorable Mention list for reading more than 10 books. http://www.rosecityreader.com/2013/02/2012-european-reading-challenge-wrap-up.html

    Are you going to sign up for the 2013 version? I hope so! The sign up post is here. http://www.rosecityreader.com/p/2013-european-reading-challenge.html

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)