Language Effort, Learning Other Cultures

I take interest and heart in many directions:  animal rights, photography, recording personal history, gardening, flowers, music….  I study many of these seriously, on my own.  In fact I have long proposed that “an expert” should not be seen as ONLY a person graduating with a diploma in a subect.  Neither school nor university showed my potential correctly on pieces of paper!  If I had children, I would consider home schooling seriously.  Anything from not being an early bird, to an unfriendly or rigid teacher;  made it awkward to pose questions.  I limped through both and finished both.  Something present peers would not know, is that one of my fields of ‘formal’ study is in foreign languages!  I am an accomplished linguist and since the age of five months, I seemed to connect with language naturally.

It never matters to me which language music is in.  When I visit another country, I think it’s rightful courtesy to greet hosts in their language;  not expect them to acquiesce to ours.  Breeching a message that needs to get across is different but a visitor should always make an effort to say “hello”, “good-bye”, and “thank-you” in the places they are visiting.  I don’t want to see a world adapting everything into English across the board, or using only one country’s monetary currency.  Those who think that is easier, aren’t thinking of the other option:  to broaden ourselves with knowledge of other cultrues, instead of the mountain coming to us.  Why not learn scatterings of education from many mountains?  It’s a great deal of fun to learn how other people live and it’s so empowering, to speak secondary languages and beyond.

Since literature is my strongest hobby, or most regular activity;  I ought to apply my multilingualism to it more often.  I own an ample assortment of foreign language books, as well as translated works.  Here is a reading challenge to facilitate that, along with one to boost and reward my too-seldom forays into non-fiction too.  There is a lot of it I plan to read this year;  many books about treasures, legends, very odd laws pertaining to Canada, and inventions made by us.  I hope blog readers enjoy what comes out of this.
~     ~     ~     ~

 

I had fun with the titles, so the length evened out.  I will at least reach “A Conversationalist” again but hope to strive for “Carolyn Is Trilingual“!  :)  This is how I did last year.

Simply A Beginner  01-03
A Conversationalist  04-06
Carolyn Is Trilingual  07-09
I Am A Top Linguist!  10-12

I succeeded at the third level!  I call it “trilingual”, because that is what I am.  :-)  Happy new year 2016 and God bless everybody, always!

(1)  “The Lost Steps”  Alejo Carpentier  1953
(2)  “Astrology For Cats”  Traudl & Walter Reiner  1991
(3)  “Aesop’s Fables”  George Fyler Townsend  1846
(4)  “The Setting Lake Sun”  J.R. Léveillé  2001
(5)  “The Four Musicians”  Brothers Grimm  1819
(6)  “Heidi”  Johanna Spyri, D Marwood  1881
(7)  “Der Stall Von Bethlehem”  Jenny Tulip  1993 ****
(8)  “No One Writes To The Colonel”  Gabriel García Márquez  1961
~ ~ ~ ~

The same as last year, I will finish enough for “Dilettante” but hope to reach higher.  It turns out it will be a breeze to read many serious books this year.  I have been enjoying many of them already!  I find Canadian short stories and trivia in abundance, which is an especially nice education for us.

Dilettante  01-05
Explorer  06-10
Seeker  11-15
Master  16-20

 

Cats Know Best”  Lesley Anne Ivory, Colin Eisler  1988
Astrology For Cats”  Traudl & Walter Reiner  1991
Selected Poems:  The Vision Tree”  Phyllis Webb  1982
Stars Near & Far”  Robin Dexter  1996
Unsung Heroes Of The Royal Canadian Air Force”  Cynthia J. Faryon  2003
You Can’t Do That In Canada!”  Bev Spencer  2000
Crazy Canadian Trivia”  Pat Hancock  2000
Canadian Disasters”  René Schmidt  2006
Dinosaur Hunters:  Uncovering The Hidden Remains Of Canada’s Ancient Giants”  Lisa Murphy-Lamb  2003
(10) “A Hill For Looking”  Martha Brooks  1982

Sonnets From The Portuguese”  Elizabeth Barrett Browning  1850
The Boat Who Wouldn’t Float”  Farley Mowat  1969
The Street”  Mordecai Richler  1969
Rescue Dogs:  Crime & Rescue Canines In The Canadian Rockies”  Dale Portman  2003
Animal Heroes”  Karleen Bradford  1995
Weird British Columbia Places”  Michelle Simms  2006
Earth Witch”  Anne Cameron  1982
This Land Of Ours”  P.J. Peters  1972
White Horses And Shooting Stars”  David Greer, Chum McLeod  1994
(20) “Aurore Of The Yukon”  Keith Halliday  2006

The Klondike Gold Rush:  Photographs From 1896-1899”  Graham Wilson  1997
Haunted Canada:  True Ghost Stories”  Pat Hancock  2003
Danse Macabre”  Stephen King  1981
Guide To Fiction Writing”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1982
The Life Story Of The Butterfly”  Jilly MacLeod, Joanne Cowne  1996
Haunted Harbours, Ghost Stories Of Old Nova Scotia”  Steve Vernon  2006
Bluenose Ghosts”  Dr. Helen Creighton  1957
The Easter Story”  Heather Amery, Norman Young  1998
Secrets & Mysteries Of The World”  Sylvia Browne  2005
(30) “Jonah And A Very Big Fish”  Sunny Griffin, Yacoba  1994

Lost Treasures:  True Stories Of Discovery”  Larry Verstraete  2006
Haunted Pets”  Allan Zullo  1995
Usborne True Stories, Ghosts”  Paul Dowswell  2008
Girl Sleuth, Nancy Drew & The Women Who Created Her”  Melanie Rehak  2005
The Art Of Robert Bateman”  Ramsay Derry  1981
The Joy Of Cats”  Jo Kittinger  1999
(37) “Der Stall Von Bethlehem”  Jenny Tulip  1993

I blew the top off of this and reached thirty-seven books that are non-fictional.  Wow!  Hooray!

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music, and free spirituality. I write varieties of articles, host activities, and in special cases I make friends! Surrounding ourselves with good people and animals is a delight.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature, Canadian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)