A prize activity for everyone… about spirits!

This event includes all of my peers!  For eclectic prizes:  used books, photo prints, Canadian postcards…  All are invited!  Subscribers of this blog, friends at Goodreads.com, and newcomers.

Use the comment box below, or leave a link to your own post.  Please name the places where we are connected.  Complete one option, or chime in on more.

(A)  YOU HAVE ENCOUNTERED A SPIRIT / GHOST / SOUL. Was it a presence, or more tangible contact?  I would love to hear those stories!

(B)  YOU HAVE PHOTOGRAPHED A HALLOWED LOCATION. Please link it with date & location.  A photo is meaningless without stats. – or – GIVE THE WEBSITE OF A HALLOWED SPOT NEAR YOU, or anyplace you visited.

(C)  RECOMMEND A GREAT GHOST BOOK, FOR ADULTS!  Fiction or non-fiction.  No ‘cozy mysteries’.  See my description at the bottom.  Skip suggestions already made and see what I’ve already read in my review menu.

~~  This activity is open until October 28th, 2014.  ~~
I would love comments on my answers, below, even if you don’t make an entry!
——————

*** THE WINNER IS SARAH!  CONGRATULATIONS!  WHICH PRIZE WILL YOU CHOOSE?  I thank very much everyone who played.  I am already reading one of your suggestions, “Ammie, Come Home” and it does fit the bill!  I’ll keep an eye out for your, Sue.  I do have books by Maggie S.  I invite comments from all blog browsers on the stories we’ve told here and for you to contribute your own websites and experiences.  I would take pleasure from reading them all.  Sincerely, Carolyn.  ***

THE HOSTESS’ ANSWERS?

(A)  My previous post sadly announced the unexpected passing of my young Love.  He is part of a family group, who are dearest in my life.  I’ve felt his presence and was comforted.  Grief comes from a snipping of physical, Earthly contact together;  two decades too early.  Well, last month I heard his voice!  He doesn’t meow.  Love has a distinct voice, a unique sound.  Regardless, I turned in an instant to see which of our other cats must be sounding like him.  I was tending flowers.  No wishful thinking, no ethereal thoughts.

There was no one there.  It was a firm, long note, unmistakably his.  When I absorbed that, the message came to me:  “I’m all right and I’m still here“!

(B)  Dalnavert Museum, Winnipeg, Manitoba.  Taken this month in 2006.  It is the house of Hugh MacDonald, son of Canada’s very first prime minister.  Hugh’s son, Jack died there.  It was a rooming house a long while, before its resurrection by Manitoba’s heritage society.  Click my photo to access the website.

Copyright (C) 2006 C.M. Riedel.

Copyright (C) 2006 C.M. Riedel.

(C)  An excellent adult book pertaining to ghosts?  Old titles are debunked.  I don’t seek horror but modern titles are too ‘cozy’.  I love Nancy Atherton, Juliet Blackwell, Annette Blair, Alice Kimberly but gothic mystery comes closest.  Books needn’t be spooky but a ghost appearance should be enchanting.  The best I recall is “Night Echoes” by Holly Lisle, 2007.

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Animals Or Pets, Book / Novel / Literature, Canadian, Cats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A prize activity for everyone… about spirits!

  1. I struggle to understand blogs. I made changes this morning and hope my reviews are visible. I heard they weren’t. My ghost story would be, the day my brother died his spirit visited me in the hospital. My Mother and one Grandmother have been around at times.

  2. Amanda says:

    I’ve never had an experience with a ghost. My grandma used to tell ghost and witch stories when I was young. Have you read any of Barbara michaels books? She wrote some stories to do with ghost and gothic themes.

    • Ladies, don’t forget to say where you know me from, or if you’re new faces. :) Hello Amanda! I own several by Barbara and look forward to starting them. It’s a valid suggestion. If we’re connected somewhere, you’re in! Feel free to add the website of a sacred, or haunted spot near you.

      • Amanda says:

        Sorry about that. We know each other from goodreads. I have a picture of my cat sleeping on couch.

    • Yes, the grey tabby! I’ve looked forward to knowing all of my internet cronies better. Thank you for playing and facilitating that! Response is looking good, which will allow multiple draws per area of connection. :)

      • amanda says:

        One of my favorite books from Barbara Michaels was, Ammie, Come Home. The story is very creepy, would be a good read for October.

  3. Sue says:

    We are goodreads friends and I’m in one of your reading challenges. A surprising ghost story book is “The Raven Boys” by Maggie Stiefvater because the ghost part of the story comes as a big surprise near the end.

    • I hope that isn’t a spoiler! LOL! It’s nice to touch base. Funny, I picked up two Maggie novels at thrift stores; not that one. Sue, Andrea, Betty Louise: if you find websites for haunted spots near your towns, having them would be fun. Maybe we will have American blog visitors close enough to visit them.

  4. AMIE COME HOME is one of favorite books.

  5. (A) I’ve always felt that my late Grandfather is watching over me, ever since he passed away when I was 8. Nothing tangible, just a feeling.

    (C) I can’t think of a single good ghost story I have read which means I probably haven’t read one recently. I do love true ghost stories though and have read a number of them featuring locations in the UK. I will need to look them out and add them to my Goodreads!

  6. Great to meet you Carolyn. I am also Canadian and passionate about writing, books, and all things paranormal! You might be interested in my new book which will be available in the next couple of weeks. ‘Where Angels Gather’ is a novel set in the Afterlife. I plan to write a post about the book in the next week.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

