Global, British, Wishes

 

List 12 books you have been excited about, longer than 2013!
It might be surprising:  rather than read what I love (paranormal, gothic, mystery);  I strategize to get others out of the way.  With these, I have membership in a total of 40 themes!  The sooner I whittle down, the better.  Giving orders to entertain my soul with favourites, is the likeliest way for me to visit them any time soon.

When you’ve read your 12, leave a comment with a link to your final post about the challenge.
Make sure you do by January 15th, 2014.  There doesn’t seem to be a ‘linky’ to join.  I’ve asked the Netherlands hostess if there will be a review page.

 

1.  “A New Kind Of Country”    Dorothy Gilman  1978
2.  “The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax”   Dorothy Gilman  1966
3.  “A Killer Plot”   Ellery Adams  2010
4.  “An Uninvited Ghost”    E.J. Copperman  2011
5.  “In A Witch’s Wardrobe”    Juliet Blackwell  2012
6.  “If Walls Could Talk”    Juliet Blackwell  2010
7.  “The Quicksilver Pool”    Phyllis A. Whitney  1955
8.  “Haunting Jordan”    P.J. Alderman  2009
9.  “Murder Under Cover”    Kate Carlisle  2011
10. “The Family Vault”  Charlotte MacLeod  1980
11. “Pretty Poison”    Joyce, Jim Lavene  2004
12. “How To Tail A Cat”    Rebecca M. Hale  2012

 

 

 My goal is “Easy Challenge“:  7 x 1
One can go as high as the 7 continents x 3 novels.
Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, North America, South America,
Seventh Continent (Antarctica or:  the sea, space, a supernatural world,
history, the future – you name it).
I’ll take a little time to brainstorm my continental targets.  Here are my ideas.

 
Canada:  “Mystery At Black Rock Island” Robert Sutherland  1983
France:  “The Little Prince”  Antoine De St. Exupéry  1943
Phillippines:  “The Secret Of Terror Castle”  Robert Arthur  1964
Africa:  Natasha Mostert “The Midnight Side”
Australia:  Kate Morton
South America:  Paul Coelho
Multiple countries:  Dorothy Gilman’s adventures.

 

 

This group has been in my queue awhile, to ascertain 12 British-born writers I intend to read.  The point of these wonderful forays is to tackle my own very good collection.  I don’t join anything I’m uncertain I’ll master.  I’m up for it, so here I go!

 

The Dragon Children”  Bryan Buchan  1975
The Secret Adversary”  Agatha Christie  1922
Thunder On The Right”  Mary Stewart  1957
Hercules & Other Tales From Greek”  Olivia E. Coolidge  1949
The Salzburg Connection”  Helen MacInnes  1968

“The Snow Spider”   Jenny Nimmo 1986
“Room With A Clue”   Kate Kingsbury 1993
“Do Not Disturb”   Kate Kingsbury 1994
“Murder On The Links”  Agatha Christie 1923
“The Man In The Brown Suit”  Agatha Christie 1924

“The Gyrth Chalice Mystery”  Margery Allingham 1931
“The Hills Is Lonely”   Lillian Beckwith 1959
“Lightly Poached”   Lillian Beckwith 1962
“The Sign Of Four”   Arthur Conan Doyle  1890
“Death Walks In Eastrepps”  Francis Beeding 1931
“Whispers In The Sand”  Barbara Erskine 2000
“The Playroom”  Frances Hegarty 1991
“A Series Of Murders”  Simon Brett 1989

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music, and free spirituality. I write varieties of articles, host activities, and in special cases I make friends! Surrounding ourselves with good people and animals is a delight.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)