Where to buy music albums nowadays!

How do you play music at home?  It’s great to have a little Ipod when you’re on a bus or plane, to tune out the random public, or brighten your commute.  Anyone can play music on a PC but that is a room away from visiting guests.  When you have company for supper, or a party:  do you have a stereo in your livingroom?  Or allow me to pose this another way:  do you like collecting music?

Ron & I have not yet created space for a record player and our cassette decks no longer work.  The best for our small house would be a unit with its own speakers, which can turn rare material among our records and cassettes into MP3s and run an Ipod too.  I presume these units must have USB ports for removing music one has converted.  I love making music CDs from the best songs of albums I own.  I carve out fantastic dancing moods that a long list of Ipod tracks would not accomplish, like 22-song CDs would.  The way I tailor them gets me exhilerated enough to dance around our house and to waltz with a few of our cats!

Having factory albums in hand is, you might be surprised, more important to us than physical books.  We’re likelier to give books away we aren’t excited about.  Music-shopping seems to be rarer but on those days, the selections we make feel much more like a personal, permanent purchase, isn’t it?  For practicality, songs can downloaded or heard on TV and radio.  We know we’re fans of a few songs at least and that sparks our album purchases.  Did you buy 45s or cassette singles as children?  I did!  I found no thrill in cassette singles and their pricing was never worth it, so I only have a few of those but along with LP records, 45s are my greatest collection.  The way I used to decide “album versus 45” was this:  if I loved three songs on the same album, I bought the album.  If I only loved a couple of tracks, presuming this was not “a completionist” music artist for me;  the 45s would do.

From another tack:  Ron is not comfortable buying on-line and neither of our parents have a way to do it, come Christmas.  So a place to choose something for my birthday of Jesus’s, from my well-varied wish list, has closed.  We were sorry that HMV music stores closed all across Canada last month!  I started my record collection as a child, switching to tapes when records stopped being produced for a long time around 1990, and eventually getting into compact discs, which we still enjoy.  I remember having a plethora of literal “record stores” for new stock, from which to choose:  A&A Records & Tapes, The Record Baron….  I seldom have occasion to travel but those tiems I have been in Toronto, Ontario:  one of my biggest treats was always perusing the huge, head office HMV store on Yonge Street!

It is one thing for Winnipeg’s three or four branches to be gone.  However I have to say, I never shopped in there, even while their stock was dwindling this year, without about 20 people squeezing by me, saying “Excuse me”!  Every browse down their aisle was always a densely-navigated stampede!  How could they not have been doing a thriving business?  However what shocks and disappoints me the most, is the thought of that huge, three-storey store no longer being at Eaton’s Place Centre in Toronto.  A huge, exciting place like that;  with not only rows, but FLOORS of music and things that our city didn’t carry!  To any record shop employees of any kind around the world reading this:  I appreciate you and my family and friends patronized you!  I told employees on my final two shopping trips to HMV, where I scored blu-rays and music at $3.00 each, that many love having a place to buy real copies of music.  Most thanked me for saying my family is not among those creating demographics that suggest our world doesn’t need music stores.

Future Shop is gone, who had a fantastic selection.  Best Buy cut their music department and Ron noticed on birthday shopping trips for me, no longer have a great blu-ray & DVD department. There might be one supplier of new releases in Winnipeg, otherwise we’ll have to hope used shops have a good selection.  For new music most notably and blu-rays, since Wal-Mart’s selection is tiny, this leaves Amazon Canada.  I will try to get my spouse comfortable using it but it is useless to people like our parents, without internet, or sufficient computer know-how.  Last night I was dealt a blow by Amazon too, in the used department, called “marketplace sellers”.  Please watch for my article about how to give feedback to second-hand sellers, who aren’t pleased with some major shipping changes either.

A cute story about a very special trip to California when I was a teenager:  it was 1992 and stores no longer sold records in my city.  I am sure I danced, when my host’s little brother took me around town and we spotted a music store….  full of LP records, 12″ singles, and 45s!!!!  New ones, in plastic!!!!  I dove into those bins so long, probably for a couple of hours (it was a once-in-a-lifetime chance after all), that staff brought me a catalogue and a box.  I worried customs would be a problem and emptied my suitcase of anything that didn’t need to stay with me;  mailing home rolls of film and even laundry!  My parents appreciated the postcard.  {Wry shrug!}  I don’t believe the charge was very much and stored my prizes on the plane with me.  Customs and airlines were kind 25 years ago.  Besides, a place that still sold NEW RECORDS was a wonderland!  I did not pass it up.

Music sources for Winnipeg and our environs!

The last employee, so friendly seven though they were losing their jobs, said Sunrise Records might replace HMV!  I believe this is a second-hand store but that is all right.

I would like to plug to the wonderful discovery of a great record store in Steinbach!  What a surprise to find such a thing in the infamous “closed on Sundays” town.

A favourite CD and record shop I loved when I lived near Grant Park mall in Winnipeg, still has the same very likeable manager.  It feels good to visit our old neighbourhoods, doesn’t it?  Especially when our country life is far from the ones we led in those great urban places.

My old neighbourhood where I lived with my twenty year-old kitty, before we rented a dwelling with Ron….  the always colourful Osbourne Village!  There is certainly used music there.  All of these places are where we can buy music.  Perhaps the interval will be brief for newer releases.

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Canadian, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where to buy music albums nowadays!

  1. It’s definitely depressing when loved stories start closing their doors. Digital is convenient but there is not always the same amount of soul in it. I can look at a song or book digitally and have a memory associated with it, but the memory is much stronger when it comes to holding the physical item in my hand. Plus, cover art!!

    I’m glad you were able to find one record store, and am crossing my fingers for you that the salesperson was correct that a used music place would be coming to offer a replacement and more options.

    You’re right that Best Buy is seriously changing its stock. It’s hard to even find a lot of computer essentials there anymore.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

