Carolyn’s CELTIC COASTS 2017

celtic-coasts-2017

 

Happy RIEDEL Challenges renewal!  February 1 is here for my four groups!  May we have a fun year with CELTIC COASTS 2017!  This is my post to show how I get along.  I plan, then smooth my list into finished books with reviews.  I long ago gathered most of Maeve Binchy’s oeuvres:  beloved journalist and general fiction authoress.  To my surprise, with nary a ghost or mystery, I love them.  Narrating from an empathetic and quirky perspective, even drawing me in when she shares chapters with several, is the key.  I am impatient about a diversion from one lead character but Maeve crafted intertwined viewpoints successfully.

Contrary to popularity, I disliked Ellis Peters’ and Marion C. Beaton’s openers but will try their sequels.  I heard Marion got better.  I will finally sample Josephine Tey.  I am enthusiastic and need my tri-country reading group, after discovering a rush of new Celtic authors and stories.  Alexander McCall Smith, Nora Robert’s fairy cottage trilogy, and single novels I can’t wait to settle into;  like “The Mermaid’s Song” by Lisa Carey.  No one tires of writing about these magical lands so our posts will be humming.  I will enjoy talking about them with my visitors and guests.  Do you like Irish, Welsh, Scottish authors and themes?  Please click the banner to join me and tell others!

 

Ghost Behind Me”  Eve Bunting  1984
The No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency”  Alexander McCall Smith  1998
Resurrection Row”  Anne Perry  1981
The Man In The Queue”  Josephine Tey  1929
A Life In Folklore”  Dr. Helen Creighton  1975
Rutland Place”  Anne Perry  1983
Candlenight”  Phil Rickman  1991
House Of The Lost”  Sarah Rayne  2010
The Incredible Journey”  Sheila Burnford  1960
“The Sin Eater”  Sarah Rayne  2012
(11)  “The House Between Tides”  Sarah Maine  2014

 

Ideas for next year.  *
“Bridge Of Friendship”  Mabel Esther Allan  1975
“Central Line”  Maeve Binchy  1978
“Victoria Line”  Maeve Binchy  1980
“Echoes”  Maeve Binchy  1985
“Into The Fire”  Jodi McIsaac  2013
“The Novice’s Tale”  Margaret Frazer  1992
“The Mysterium”  Eric McCormack  1992
“Secret Of Goblin Glen”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1968
“The Trickster”  Muriel Gray  1994

 

As reviews fill-in, please enjoy following along here:  CELTIC COASTS reviews 2017.

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature, Tradition / Legend and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

