Carolyn’s MY Kind Of Mystery 2017

my-kind-of-mystery-2017

 

Happy “RIEDEL Challenges” day!  February 1st is when my four groups renew.  Here is to a fun year with MY KIND OF MYSTERY 2017!  Do you read them?  Millions do, so I hope you click the banner to join me and tell others!  This is my post to share how I do.  I start with a little planning, then smooth my list out into finished books with their reviews.  This is still the genre I read the most and likely always will but I really do branch out, especially in the years sampling many sorts of Canadian literature and non-fiction.  I enjoy several fantasy series too, which I did not grow up reading.

I’d like to delineate my two favourite kinds, adult ghost fiction / paranormal (which also belong in Ethereal).  Rarest of all:  true mysteries, for adults, based on something mysterious, instead of a plot directly generated by crime.  If you know of these books, please tell me!  One is Lyn Hamilton’s “The Celtic Riddle“.  Below, see my review of Karen White’s “The Girl On Legare Street” to know what I mean.  I search for something like these every time I consider a book.  You might call it “Eclectic Nancy Drew-type plots, for forty year-olds, with ghosts”.  Yes, rare indeed!  It is a joy to find it!  In the quest for My Kind Of Mystery;  this series is perfection!  What are the kinds you love best?

 

Nancy’s Mysterious Letter”  Mildred A. Wirt  1932
Escape From Big Muddy”  Eric Wilson  1997
A Question Of Murder”  Eric Wright  1988
A City Called July”  Howard Engel  1986
Ghost Behind Me”  Eve Bunting  1984
The Girl On Legare Street”  Karen White  2009
“Bliss House”  Laura Benedict  2014

“Lost Among The Living”  Simone St. James  20161
“The Novice’s Tale”  Margaret Frazer  1992
“The Mysterium”  Eric McCormack  1992
“A Dry Spell”  Susie Moloney  1997
“The Red Carnelian”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1943
“The Mystery Of The Gulls”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1951
“Mystery Of The Black Diamonds”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1954
“Secret Of The Samurai Sword”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1958
“Secret Of The Tiger’s Eye”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1961
“Mystery Of The Angry Idol”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1965
“Secret Of The Spotted Shell”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1967
“Secret Of Goblin Glen”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1968
“The Mystery Of The Crimson Ghost”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1969
“Secret Of The Missing Footprint”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1970
“The Vanishing Scarecrow”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1971
“Mystery Of The Scowling Boy”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1973
“Secret Of The Stone Face”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1977
“Lost Among The Living”  Simone St. James  2016
“The Novice’s Tale”  Margaret Frazer  1992
“Death At Buckingham Palace”  C.C. Benison  1996
“Cirak’s Daughter”  Charlotte MacLeod  1982
“The Mysterium”  Eric McCormack  1992
“A Dry Spell”  Susie Moloney  1997
“The Trickster”  Muriel Gray  1994

 

As reviews fill-up, please enjoy following along here:  My Kind Of Mystery reviews 2017.

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature, Canadian, Spirits / Ghosts / Haunted and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

