Checking On Ethereal!

Hello, at the beginning of October!  I am checking on Ethereal reading.  Because we run from February, I didn’t rush with the first post.  Suddenly, summer was here.  You must have vacationed and preferred the outdoors, isn’t that right?  We are Canadian prairie gardeners who savour our produce and constantly-blooming flowers!  I checked WordPress and Goodreads daily for comments, questions, or chat from all my dear subscribers.  I reply to activity that pops up.

Thanks to e-mails from Sue and Bev about not seeing comment boxes among the review pages, I belatedly discovered there are none!  I don’t know why that technical omission occurred.  If it hampered conversation, I am sorry.  There are comment boxes in the original challenge posts.  I wrote general articles that welcomed discussion:  about gardening and properly identifying the “cozy mystery”.  My articles and goings-on are open to all.

I am sorry I could not do a mid-year prize activity.  Because it’s a hard financial year and we are only about five per group:  would you mind if I held one year-end draw for all four reading challenges?  It so happens many are in my other groups.  Now:  a summary!
~~~~~~~~

** ETHEREAL! **

This group is dear because there used to be no place for all paranormal, spiritual, and mystical flavour.  There used to be none geared for adults, nor catering to ghosts.  I made a place for all magical, fantasy, and mystical content. More people need to hear about us.  I am eager to browse book possibilities in this category but don’t know if anyone besides me has used this group’s review page yet.  If you haven’t linked-up so far, I look forward to it.  If you are a non-reviewer who needs someplace to list your titles, the original sign-up post is fine.  I’ll see if the missing comment boxes can be reversed.  There is ample time to discuss our themes in more detail but I owed a catch-up summary.

The special news in this category, which I blogged about months previously, is that a decades-long search for exciting ghost literature is requited!  Since I became an adult I found non-cozy, non-horror ghost stories nearly non-existent, with a 30 year-old protagonist.  One part of the solution is that I do need to peek into the horror label to find these treats, which are not horrific but indeed the magical spiritual encounters I have sought.  The other answer is that too many authors really did think the fun stuff belonged to “young adults” but many more authors our sating our hunger for grown-up material of our favourite kind.  Wendy Webb, Karen White, and Mary Ellen Taylor are excellent.

My new favourite is Amanda Stevens!  Used copies of her graveyard architect series cannot go on sale fast enough!  Do you know of her?  They are the perfect books:  everything I have sought in adult mysteries!  Her heroine explores mysterious puzzles more than chasing a criminal, which is precisely MY KIND OF MYSTERY!  They ooze enchantment and suspense from the first page and are five-star calibre.  I love them so much (and they go on sale so slowly) that I tried to space out the two I obtained…  only to discover a mere two or three months went between them!  I found a standalone novel at a charity sale, called “The Doll-Maker” and wonder how little time will stretch before I open that story.  Who are your five-star authors?

The most surprising update is that last week, I reencountered a workplace friend who cherished knowing me years ago and hadn’t forgotten me either!  She was determined to be an authoress when I knew her and has succeeded. When sharing my relief that authors of grown-up ghost literature are beginning to emerge, she revealed that she is such a writer and has such a book slated for publication this January!  Keep your eye on J.H. Moncrieff!  I could not be happier to end that drought.  Today I find probably thirty titles from which to choose.  Next month, I hope to receive Amazon Canada gift certificates for my birthday!  :)

If you would like to reach me via e-mail, please be advised of a change:  RIEDELFascination[at]gmail[dot]com.

I feel gratitude, pleasure, and camaraderie for all of you reading this blog and commenting on my reviews.  Thank you for sharing a wonderful outlet of expression and acquainting me.  To my WordPress peers not involved in literature:  I will post general articles soon!

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Checking On Ethereal!

  1. I haven’t heard of Amanda Stevens. Isn’t it wonderful that no matter how much we read or how old we get, there will always be so much left to discover?

    • What a wonderful way to say it. Who are your authors that excite you like this? Even today, I was checking Amazon.ca for her third volume to be 1c so I can grab it with gift certificates…. and scored a second standalone this week-end at a sale!

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

