ETHEREAL books we have read

Ethereal 2015

Hello blog visitors and challenge guests!

I have participated in groups often enough to know we feel pressured to finish them up, because too many conclude December 31.  This is precisely when I and others who echo their appreciation, are glad my groups go from February 1 to January 31 each year.  This is a nice time to take stock of books we have been reading in this theme.  Guests who haven’t linked their titles yet may do so at our ETHEREAL review page.  Those who don’t review can list their titles in the comment box of any ETHEREAL post they like:  the home page, review page, and even this one right here.  It’ll be nice for each member to show a sign of life with a comment somewhere.  You might remember, this group has a unique prize for our year-end draw.

Ethereal Levels

Should my blog visitors want to read about intelligent animals, spiritual subjects, fantasy, magick and the downright paranormal;  this is where to look!  My titles will bring up the end.  It looks like I blew past 68 books in this theme, which translates into reaching the top level that I call “The Soul“!  With the animals of children’s literature making this easy to attain, I should provide another level.  As much as I love reading entirely about spirits, I have done a wonderful job with other subjects and syles.  My reviews for my titles, at the bottom of this message, can be read through this blog’s alphabetized review menu.  See the very top of this webpage.  My menu for Canadian authors are self-explanatory.  The menu entitled “Mine” contains every one I have written.

Before you to browse the literature we have handed in so far, I am happy to confirm I will keep running ETHEREAL in 2016, as well as MY KIND OF MYSTERY, GENTLE SPECTRUMS…. and a new one;  turning my RIEDEL Fascination trio into a quartet!  It will be just as flexible and undemanding as its sister groups.  You may sign-up for existing groups right now, because from now on, joining consists of an e-mail!  I will send members a note when there is information, a prize event, or relevant post.  As always, you decide if you’re interested.  The important difference is:  never again will something fall flat, because every member didn’t know about it.  As quick as I finish, there will be a fresh description & linky page and new review page to accompany it.  I have a beautiful new logo that will catch new people’s eyes!  I finished putting my name on it and can show it to you!

I was surprised by hurdles in 2015:  people creating posts but not linking-up to tell me they had joined.  Writing reviews without using our review page.  Getting information to people was a chore because I’m on slow speed, dial-up internet.  There I was, crawling to everyone’s blog, searching for a spot to leave information!  Contests are futile if at least half my participants aren’t involved.  Heartfelt discussion topics went without comments, clarification information unseen by those who should see it.  I wasted half an hour per person, getting unanswered comments to go through at “Blogspot”.  I am forced to stop attempting to comment there.  I’ll give it a try if folks assure me they have captcha verification turned off.  You understand I want to visit your blogs.  I will reply to you at mine;  be sure to look there.

All of my 2016 reading challenges will be revealed shortly!  Since you join by sending an e-mail, it doesn’t matter if my pages aren’t ready and your blog posts needn’t be written yet, either!  If you already know you would like to join, please e-mail:  ALYSHAEB{at}hotmail{dot}com.  Let me know:  “I am joining ETHEREAL / MY KIND OF MYSTERY / GENTLE SPECTRUMS in 2016“.  When my pages are up, we will link your posts to each sign-up list.  Spreading the word about my challenges, with a blog post by you, continues to be needed and appreciated.

Are you ready for a preview?  I hope you love it.  Ta da!
Here is the beautiful new banner for ETHEREAL 2016!!!!  Yours sincerely, Carolyn.

Ethereal-2016

~

~ Hazellie Wong ~
“The Eagle And The Rose”  Rosemary Altea
“A Beginner’s Guide To Tarot”  Kathleen Olmstead
“The Elements Of Tarot”  A.T. Mann
“78 Degrees Of Wisdom”  Rachel Pollack
“The Last Lecture”  Randy Pausch

~ Brandy @ Brandy’s Bustlings ~
Into The Land Of The Unicorns” Bruce Coville
A Discovery Of Witches” Deborah Harkness
Shadow Of Night” Deborah Harkness

~ Nina (Topcho) ~
Charlotte’s Soul”  Danny Estes

~ Ms. Nose In A Book ~
The Magic Strings Of Frankie Presto”  Mitch Albom
Soul Retrievers”  David Burton
The Phoenix Born”  Kaitlyn Davis
Taking Leaps And Finding Ghosts”  Janet DeLee
Sapphire:  The Shielded Realms”  Elayne Griffith
The Invasion Of The Tearling”  Erika Johansen
In A Dark Wood”  Joseph Luzzi
A Reunion Of Ghosts”  Judith Claire Mitchell
Uprooted”  Naomi Novik
Between Gods”  Alison Pick
Phoenica Rising:  Keeper Of The Light”  Caroline Quigley
Scrap”  Emory Sharplin
The Complete Maus”  Art Speigelman
Dragonwitch”  Anne Elisabeth Stengl
Wildalone”  Krassi Zourkova

~ AMS @ Reckless Indulgence ~
Prometheus Bound”  Aeschylus
In Search Of Lost Dragons”  Elian Black’Mor
Wolf’s-Own: Ghost, #1”  Carole Cummings
In Despair (Princes Of The Blood #3)”  Megan Derr
Masks And Mirrors (Weir Chronicles #2)”  Sue Duff
Mind The Gap, V1: Intimate Strangers”  Jim McCann
When Ryan Came Back”  Devon McCormack
The Elf And Shoemaker”  M.L. Rhodes
Wild Cats, #1”  Muhammad Tauhidul Iqbal Sampad
Silver Diamond (v.20)”  Sugiura Shiho
Silver Diamond (v.21)”  Sugiura Shiho
The Specific Heat Capacity Of Love”  Old Xian & Moss

~ Carolyn, your RIEDEL Fascination hostess ~
(1) “Tempest In The Tea Leaves”  Kari Lee Townsend 2011
(2) “The Cat Who Played Brahms”  Lilian Jackson Braun 1987
(3) “A Novena For Murder”  Sister Carol Anne O’Marrie 1984
(4) “Dyeing Wishes”  Molly MacRae 2013
(5) “Aunt Dimity Beats The Devil”  Nancy T. Atherton 2000
(6) “The Wishing Tree”  Ruth Chew 1980
(7) “The Half-A-Moon Inn”  Paul Fleischman 1980
(8) “Astrology For Cats”  Traudl & Walter Reiner 1991
(9) “Marshy Winter”  Ed Golin, Jerry Maryniuk 1993
(10) “Body Of Intution”  Claire Daniels 2002
(11) “House Of Dark Shadows”  Robert Liparulo 2008
(12) “Fool’s Gold”  Juliet Blackwell 2013
(13) “Tom’s Midnight Garden”  Philippa Pearce 1958
(14) “The Ghost Of Thomas Kempe”  Penelope Lively 1973
(15) “When Midnight Comes”  Carol Beach York 1979
(16) “Charmed”  Barbara Bretton 2011
(17) “A Vision In Velvet”  Juliet Blackwell 2014
(18) “Aesop’s Fables”  George Fyler Townsend 1846
(19) “The Unmasking Of ‘Ksan”  Eric Wilson 1986
(20) “Wish Upon A Unicorn”  Vicki Blum 1999
(21) “Through The Door”  Jodi McIsaac 2012
(22) “The Shadow Unicorn”  Vicki Blum 2000
(23) “The Summer Tree”  Guy Gavriel Kay 1984
(24) “The Wandering Fire”  Guy Gavriel Kay 1986
(25) “Canadian Hauntings”  Michael Norman, Beth Scott 1994
(26) “Rescue Dogs: Crime & Rescue Canines In Canadian Rockies”  Dale Portman 2003
(27) “Animal Heroes”  Karleen Bradford 1995
(28) “A Promise Is A Promise”  Michael Kusugak 1988
(29) “Hide And Sneak”  Michael Kusugak 1992
(30) “White Horses And Shooting Stars”  David Greer, C McLeod 1994
(31) “The Boat Who Wouldn’t Float”  Farley Mowat 1969
(32) “Witchery Hill”  Welwyn Wilton Katz 1984
(33) “Haunted Canada: True Ghost Stories”  Pat Hancock 2003
(34) “The Castle In The Attic”  Elizabeth Winthrop 1985
(35) “Look For Me By Moonlight”  Mary Downing Hahn 1995
(36) “Spinning In Her Grave”  Molly MacRae 2014
(37) “How To Tail A Cat”  Rebecca M. Hale 2012
(39) “Watcher In The Woods”  Robert Liparulo 2008
(40) “Time For Bed”  Mem Fox, Jane Dyer 1993
(41) “Danse Macabre”  Stephen King 1981
(42) “A Haunting Is Brewing”  Juliet Blackwell 2014
(43) “The Snail’s Spell”  Joanne Ryder, Lynne Cherry 1982
(44) “Does It Float?”  Lisa Ann Marsoli, A Devaney 2005
(45) “The New House Villain”  Margaret Mahey 1987
(46) “The Evening Walk”  Joanne Ryder, Julie Durrell 1985
(47) “Advent Of Dying”  Sister Carol Anne O’Marie 1986
(48) “Christopher Robin Leads An Expotition”  Alan Alexander Milne 1926
(49) “Dear Mr. Blueberry”  Simon James 1991
(50) “Haunted Harbours”  Steve Vernon 2006
(51) “Bluenose Ghosts”  Dr. Helen Creighton 1957
(52) “The Little Rabbit Who Wanted Red Wings”  Carolyn Sherwin Bailey 1931
(53) “The Easter Story”  Heather Amery, Norman Young 1998
(54) “Secrets & Mysteries Of The World”  Sylvia Browne 2005
(55) “Micawber”  John Lithgow, C.F. Payne 2002
(56) “Paddington At The Station”  Michael Bond 1976
(57) “Murder Buys A T-Shirt”  Christy Fifield 2012
(58) “Jonah And A Very Big Fish”  Sunny Griffin, Yacoba 1994
(59) “The Haunting Of Maddie Prue”  Alfred Silver 2000
(60) “Ghost House”  Paul Kropp 2003
(61) “The Four Musicians”  Brothers Grimm 1819
(62) “Marsupial Sue”  John Lithgow, Jack E. Davis 2011
(63) “Haunted Pets”  Allan Zullo 1995
“The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid Of”  Linda Williams, Megan Lloyd 1986
(65) “Usborne True Ghost Stories”  Paul Dowswell 2008
(66) “Bambi Gets Lost”  Arthur G. Miller 1941
(67) “The House On Tradd Street”  Karen White 2008
(68) “The Haunting Of Maddy Clare”  Simone St. James 2012

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature, Spirits / Ghosts / Haunted and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ETHEREAL books we have read

  1. Sorry about the slow connection. Dial up is frustrating. But, you have inspired me to do a reading challenge for 2016, myself. Although, perhaps a little differently. Good luck on yours! :)

    • Thanks Angela. Dial-up makes terrible comment forms more aggravating but I hope I was clear, Blogspot is the problem; for external visitors. I hope you will look at my groups when my pages come out. They are flexible. It’s nice I inspired you to start one. I hope inspiration includes not adding to the cumbersome Jan 1 – Dec 31 traffic. You’ll be wonderful. Many fail to see it takes more work to run these properly than putting out an attractive post. An international prize, hostesses who stay with it even if guests are quiet…I am certainly one to say different is very good. :)

  2. Such a lovely list – and WOW 68 on yours! I fell off the radar for awhile – moved back from grad school, started a new job, bought a house, finished my MA. Reading just fell to the wayside sadly. I’m glad I got a few in and hope to get one more in before the end of January! (I actually forgot this one was from Feb-Jan! I did see two of your comments on my blog and I do appreciate you slugging through! I’ve tried many things to turn off captcha, but I wonder if Blogger has made it a requirement now. Sigh!

    • Congratulations on the house, graduation, and job! I have read so many and possibly you have too, because “Ethereal” encompass everything: including the intelligence of animals and nature. A good deal of children’s books have gotten me to 76 because they show animals and nature as equal, thinking, communicating members of our world. It isn’t about reaching a quota though. It’s about sharing with ME what you read. Few or many, membership is my circle is all that matters. Merry Christmas Brandy!

  3. I abandoned my blog over the course of the year. I didn’t really post any true reviews either. I did make a shelf on Goodreads and left star reviews, unfortunately, just nothing substantial. I met my goal of 10 books though! I am looking forward to participating again this year, but I will be doing so entirely on Goodreads, hopefully with some actual reviews! That might actually be beneficial to you for the dial up!

    • What matters to me is you enjoy yourself in my circles and are still with me. Thanks so much for saying so, Cassandra! Please know reviewing is voluntary (my new posts will be up soon). If you leave a comment from time to time with book titles, that’s as good as linking reviews. No blog required at all and you bet, about the dial-up. Happy new year! Hugs, Carolyn.

  4. Hello! Happy New Year! I am excited for your 2016 challenges! 2015 was really weird for me and I felt like I was playing catch up for alot of it due to family stuff but I’m optimistic that 2016 is going to be an amazing reading year and I’m excited to have started it today as I juts read my first book of the year! I liked seeing what everyone read this year, I have seen a few books that I have been wanting to read on the lists. I saw that you read a few Guy Gavriel Kay books, I have been flirting with reading a few! I probably will, I have heard really great things of the Lions of Al-Rassan so I may start there but I’m excited to read some and I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to. The Ethereal challenge button is absolutely gorgeous, I love it.

    • Yes!!! You’re first to say something about our button preview. I’m glad you love it! The mystery one is whimsical but the others are gorgeous as well. I’m leaving a last link for another host – just my blog update, no more linking reviews if there aren’t prizes – then I’m going to finish mine. Sorry about family events. That was us losing Love in 2014. I share your wish that we are all uplifted from heaviness in 2016.

      Guy Gavriel Kay is a must for Winnipeggers: he’s from here! I like following release order so I’ll get to some of his other books I have later. I have a chunk of fantasy in mind so I’m glad I made a group in which it can go. :) I’m pretty sure people will love my new one, so I’m going to push to roll all four of them out by tomorrow.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

