Where solace has reached us.

I’ve been graced with solace from time to time and am eager to know my readers’ stories too.  I’m going to use this as a drawing opportunity for members of Ethereal (please note your participation below) but my intention is to share this discussion with everybody.  If this topic resonates with you, link a write-up in response to my post, or elaborate in the comment box here.

Can you think of a time when literature, film, or any event you encountered by chance;  brought you solace when you needed it?  Enlightened your life?

Twice, a book I’d never heard of lifted me up from despair on the two occasions our family cat passed away.  To us, this is the most major circumstance of our lives;  no commonplace situation.  Along with our parents and feeling like they are our children, our kitties are dear, equal members of our family.  Exactly twelve years ago the first died at a good old age.  This was nonetheless difficult because Thumbelina was born in our home and by my side from ages 9 to 30!  Our family knows animals understand everything we say and are feeling, reasoning individuals.  But I had longed all of my life for a way to prove it to others.  I searched for pictures of cats with Jesus or any books about meeting them in Heaven.  I made a discovery that was more immediate than that.

Mother-Daughter 1985

Sandy grooming her daughter, Thumbelina in 1985.

Somewhere between the subject of spirituality and intuition, a silly title came up that would make nearly anyone scoff.  I’ve thought the author should rename it:  “Your Psychic Pet“!  I looked past the whimsical cover, ordered it, and found the deepest beliefs of my soul spelled out:  animals do understand, answer us, and the subject of “animal communication” was nothing new!  I’ll leave you to consider my review on that book and will simply say that for the first time since her Earth-shattering departure;  my heart had a reason to soar.

In four days, a traumatic date this time faces us on July 31st.  In 2014 this child was happy and young.  Our dear Love unexpectedly left the physical world, with no sign of anything amiss until shortly before he died.  Four years old, as happy as always.  It seems to have been a heart defect at birth.  After no longer wondering if we could have saved him with a vet, even after understanding this was the outcome no matter how fast we’d reacted;  we deal with the grief that someone so happy, strong, and important to us was gone so soon.

Lovey on March 8, 2014.

Our son Lovey, on March 8, 2014.

My spouse & I browsed garage sales, striving for anything to smile about.  There was nothing we needed so I considered one lady’s only two books.  If they had mystical content and weren’t romances or sappy general fiction;  perhaps I would enjoy them.  I dismissed one but the other, “The Wishing Jar“, looked promising.  However I couldn’t concentrate on its description because this was a pushy sales-type, who wouldn’t stop chattering!  It looked close enough so I paid $2.00 but was irritated after we were in the car.  The synopsis indicated a ‘Kodak moment’, “coming of age story” after all!  So annoyed was I, every time I saw this book, I thought I’d best read it and be done with it.

Late in the book it becomes a little metaphysical but one part made it count preciously, made all of it worthwhile.  A Great-Grandmother wrote in a journal about losing her 1 1/2 year-old sons.  She said it killed her, to find herself that amount of time later;  a duration that was about to become longer than the sum of time that her sons lived.  How wrong and horrible that felt.  Well dear readers, that spoke to me in the most personal way it possibly could, with exactitude, because that is one thing I dread.  Time going by without someone I love most dearly, surpassing the time when we were physically alive together.  I tear up now thinking of this.  However, knowing even a fictional book understood, gave me solace.

Love on March 3, 2014.

Our boys McCartney & Love, on March 3, 2014.

A popular Canadian series by Gail Bowen, surprised me with highly personalized insight recently.  In “Deadly Appearances“, the protagonist spoke of a husband’s random death.  She explained that they kept out of trouble, were careful…  that this “felt like a metaphysical sneer against cause and effect, from the universe“.  If someone is young, well cared for, if you are respectable and God knows how much you cherish your loved-one;  they should live a good long time.

The stories sympathized with the shock and unfairness of reasonable security being broken.  The animal book addressed the pang over decades of separation, when one species finishes long before it’ll be your turn to see them again on equal ground.  All three books lifted me off of the ground in my life.  I’d like to hear about relief or joy that presented itself to you, readers!  My examples are being lifted from sorrow and if you merely drop by to support the major day July 31 is for me, I’m certainly grateful.  However please chime in on the root topic in any manner you relate.

Is there an uncanny story about choosing the person you married, an invaluable friend for life, the inspiration for your career;  a hobby or talent you wouldn’t have considered without the book, film, person, or event that sparked it?

In all sincerety, Carolyn.

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Animals Or Pets, Book / Novel / Literature, Cats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Where solace has reached us.

  1. Joyful2bee says:

    I lost a loving chihuahua/rat terrier female suddenly when I was about 14. She was always so vivacious it stung to think of her being dead. I worried that some say animals don’t have souls and asked my pastor. He assured me that if those animals had brought us joy in this life, why wouldn’t He have them in heaven with us to enjoy there.

    I truly believe animals have souls. They understand so much and love us so dearly. I now have two cats. Norie, my black cat, had a reaction to a rabies shot. She was immobile and in a fetal position behind the door when I found her. I, a nurse of 38 years called the doctor while sobbing so hard I could hardly talk. I got her to them right away and she recovered with fluid and cortisone. I still tear up just thinking about it. In only two years she had stolen my heart! We have a special bond because of what happened. I love my other cat too but dread the day when Norie passes. I pray, that I will go first. She is so dear to me. My heart goes out to you during this time. Pull out your photos of him and smile and cry and heal. They are such heart theives aren’t they! Hugs and love from another cat lover.

    • Here and at Goodreads, I’ve been aching for words about Lovey. Acknowledgement is extremely healing, even saying they’re unsure what to say but want to. I’m touched and relieved you saw me at a stranger’s blog and were moved to write. Thank you for understanding through your chihuahua. How wonderful Norie was saved and that you have your other kitty. Lovey’s whole family is still here and dear to us too. His white sister is beside me now for instance. Two in particular, would shake my core to lose before their 20s. But even then, to think of losing any of them….

      You hit upon something uncanny with your dear dog: trouble understanding how this is possible, how that dear face could be gone. My brain can’t do it. So young, so strong. We must be right, that a birth defect of the heart gives no warning. What I wrestle with is that the good Lord knows I need little else in life than our kitties, that this is the most painful blow. You bet I have photos everywhere. If crying is the way to healing, I’m doing it right! Thank you for your care. You would be a wonderful nurse indeed.

  2. Catwoods says:

    Your writing about your cats and the loss of these precious animals is eloquent, Carolyn. I’ve lost so many kitties over the years and I honestly don’t know how I cope. I think about them all and miss every one years, and decades, later. One thing that may help me is to consider that I have usually had others to care for at the time of a loss, and then later still more would come into our home. So I’ve been able to give a good home to many cats over the years, but if they were all alive today it might be too many to care for at this stage of my life. They are all so different and I do yearn for particular cats I’ve had in the past. There is no ‘replacing’ them. But adopting another is a good way to honor the life of a beloved pet.

    • Thank you for taking the time to emphathize, Leah! I’m not keen on restarting a 20-year clock after a loved-one died. Losing Love nearly 1 year ago was indeed very strange and momentous here. I am 42: he is third to pass away in my life, since my birth. We had Thumbelina over two decades and other family members sparingly. I do have 6 others with me: all of Love’s family! I wouldn’t have sought any cat for a year at least but for our first time, we are a large family. You bet it takes all of them to cheer me up and it works! I cherish especially that they know, love, and grew up with him. When ready, receiving a bond from others and caring for others does make a difference.

  3. Hi Carolyn, thanks so much for your comment on my website! I’ve recently moved to hazelliewong.com and a lot of things have been happening for me with my business and in real life, so I haven’t been very active. I’m trying to change that though. =) I’m sorry to read about your losses, but I’m glad you had books to help you get through them. <3 In answer to your question, it's hard for me to pinpoint the books that made a difference for me exactly, there were so many of them! I feel like who I am today is definitely because of all the books I've read and the things I've learned from them, and I'm constantly changing and growing. I'll have to think more about this. Thanks so much for stopping by, Carolyn! I hope you'll visit my new site at hazelliewong.com soon! <3

    • The loss a year ago, today, is the one I told you of when we met this year. That day is here and I’m taking all the support, cheering up from the rest of Lovey’s 6 family members that I can get. No day could be so sad again, so I survived. The passing 12 years ago was terrible but I could say of Thumbelina: you couldn’t ask for a longer life than that! With Lovey, I wish he had had a great deal more because I too, am young and it’ll be over fifty years before we’re together again on the same plain.

      For this activity Hazel, it should help that I’m not looking for anyone to summarize themselves in one book, film, event, memory, or meeting. Associate anything with one particular memory or change that had an impact on you. Perhaps a book or film that you wouldn’t have touched normally but you were glad you did; however I’ve made everyone’s ability to respond a great deal more broad.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

