Guilty, Out Of This World, British.

Nina is a person I enjoy very much, who is studying medicine.  Bulgaria will be very blessed to have such a friendly, kind person as a doctor!  Here are both of her very inventive reading challenges.  It is my second time with “Guilty Reads” and the premiere of “Out Of This World“.
I shall also revisit “Brisith Authors” here, with Sarah for a second time.

 Free Like An Angel  –  01-05
I Am But A Human  –  05-10
Book List Is Long  –  10-20

 

This is about categorizing reasons for yourself;  why you were reluctant to dive in to a book.  I’m reaching for Nina’s highest level again because I have several.  I gather novels in bulk.  When I check my shelves, sometimes they look a ways out of my preferences, or too political.  I have been very pleasantly surprised many times and look forward to delighting in such discoveries again.
~~~~~~~

 

The House On The Cliff”  Leslie McFarlane  1927

My Dad gave me a few “Hardy Boys” when I was 9.  It was time I dug into them and they are good!  They are more adventurous than “Nancy Drew” and I enjoy talking about them with Dad.

Then Came Two Women”  Charlotte Armstrong  1962
Iggy’s House”  Judy Blume  1970
A Taste For Murder”  Claudia Bishop  1994

These three didn’t look very good.  I was right about two;  I gave one 1 star!  The first was a wonderful, unique, personal story about a hard-luck lady winning her children back;  when it was hard to do in the 1960s.

The Stone Angel”  Margaret Laurence  1964
The Quicksilver Pool”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1955
My Cousin Rachel”  Daphne Du Maurier  1951

I worried these books might be too antiquated to enjoy.  I loved the first two easily, to five stars!

The Cat Who Could Read Backwards”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1966
Light A Penny Candle”  Maeve Binchy  1982
(10)The Black Joke”  Farley Mowat  1962

Farley is a Canadian legend who died last year.  I loved the sea vessel adventure, of Newfoundland boys saving their Dad from crooks!  Maeve’s book was so much larger than what I customarily read but it was a journey I’ll never forget.  I took that journey as a buddy read with Margaret Fowler, in the USA.  Lilian wrote so many cat mysteries before she died;  I wondered if it was possible for them to be of high quality.  They are!  All three of these were granted five stars.

Kiss Me”  Andrew Pyper  1996
Reflections In Poetry And Pics”  P.J. Peters  1984
Spring Floods:  Poems, Short Stories, And A Play”  Mari Pineo  1990

Andrew is a Canadian whom Stephen King likes and I have nearly all his books.  I didn’t care for these short stories about people on drugs but he is a talented writer.  I gave four stars to the VERY rare Canadians, Mr. Peters and Ms. Pineo.  Their self-printed collections of works would have been very hard to find even in their day.  They aren’t award-winning literature but I liked their work very much, especially for the passion and individual personal touches infused in them.  My Mom has the latter two now.

Sea Jade”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1964
The Scariest Stories You’ve Ever Heard”  Mark Mills  1988
The Night The Gods Smiled”  Eric Wright  1983

Mark Mills book was from a thrift store, very crumpled.  It was gross instead of spooky and I disliked it.  “Sea Jade” was shelved too long.  Not Phyllis’ best but I liked it.  I scored four Eric Wright novels in a box set for only 50c, on a charity’s Canadian table.  I couldn’t believe how good these mysteries are and I am a fan.

The House On Cabra”  June Wetherell  1966
The Alchemist”  Paulo Coelho  1988
Callander Square”  Anne Perry  1980

Two of 101 year-old June Wetherell’s novels have sat at my place for about 5 years.  This one was excellent!  I also gave “The Alchemist” 5 stars;  famous, inspiring literature I was late to try.  Anne Perry received 5 stars but there’s a personal reason for delaying this second volume in her series.

While I was nearly finished “The Cater Street Hangman”, my precious cat died unexpectedly!  I hated that he was gone but the last 40 pages of that book were still there.  If only my cat’s life could outlast things, not a stupid book.  I would gladly trade and have him back instead!  But I didn’t wish to connect bad things with Anne Perry’s books.  I read a few other titles after finishing hers and then forced myself to try her next one.

(20)Curiosity Thrilled The Cat”  Sofie Kelly  2011
Night Of Secrets”  June Wetherell  1977
The Secret Portrait”  Lillian Stewart Carl  2005

This June Wetherell book wasn’t as exciting as her former but I enjoyed it.  Like Cabra, she chose another unusual setting:  Beirut, Lebanon.  Lillian Stewart Carl is very talented but made her novel too slow.  I’m willing to try the next.  Sofie’s idea is lovely but the writing style was terrible.  I’ll try her next one but will put it off a little while.

Scone Cold Dead”  Kaitlyn Dunnett  2008
Five People You Meet In Heaven”  Mitch Albom  2003
(25)House At Riverton”  Kate Morton  2006

I’ve had Kaitlyn Dunnett’s novel for a few years and was unsure it would be very good but I love her series.  I have had three of Kate Morton’s for a while too and have been extra reluctant to start them, because they are the huge, historic kind.  It was very good but I could see where at least 100 pages of unnecessary parts could have been cut out.  Mitch Albom’s book was given to Ron by my Mom a few years ago and I’ve told him to read it soon.  It is very inspiring and worth reading.

 

 

 •  Visit via books as many places out of this world as possible!  Other planets and stars, worlds like Middle Earth, parallel worlds, dream worlds, distant future and distant past (I am talking dinos here.  Not the 80s) and so on.
•It can be just a visit to this place.  Even if only part of the book is set there.

 

1.  A Few Steps Away – 05 places to visit
2.  Over The Rainbow – 10 places to visit
3.  No One Has Been Before – 15 places
4.  Above And Beyond – 25 places to visit
5.  Out Of This World – 40 places to visit

 

I will challenge myself to 10, “Over The Rainbow“.  I will certainly be happy to up the anti if my novels contain more surreal places after all.

The Gift Of The Frost Fairy”  Sheila J. Bleeks  1976
What The Witch Left”  Ruth Chew  1973
Le Premier Nöel De La Famille LaTaupe”  Russell Hoban  1969
The Monsters Within”  Corvus Winchester  2013
The Flanders Panel”  Arturo Pérez-Reverte  1990
Elsewhere”  William Peter Blatty  1999
Angel’s Verdict”  Mary Stanton  2010
Angel Condemned”  Mary Stanton  2011
The Ghost & The Dead Deb”  Alice Kimberly  2005
(10)  “Ghost & Dead Man’s Library”  Alice Kimberly  2006

Time For Andrew”  Mary Downing Hahn  1994
The Doll In The Garden”  Mary Downing Hahn  1989
Eerie Tales Of The Old West”  Emily, Joe West  1991
Curse Of The Giant Hogweed”  Charlotte MacLeod  1985
Remedy For Treason”  Caroline Roe  1998
Cure For A Charlatan”  Caroline Roe  1999
Mariana”  Susanna Kearsley  1994
Come Like Shadows”  Welwyn Wilton Katz  1993
False Face”  Welwyn Wilton Katz  1993
(20)  “The Black Joke”  Farley Mowat  1962

Death Island”  Robert Sutherland  1994
If Two Are Dead”  Robert Sutherland  1997
Dead Bolt”  Juliet Blackwell  2011
Murder On The House” Juliet Blackwell 2012
Home For The Haunting”  Juliet Blackwell  2013
Tattered And Torn” Juliet Blackwell 2013
Do-It-Yourself Magic” Ruth Chew 1987
The Hidden Cave” Ruth Chew 1973
An Uninvited Ghost”  E.J. Copperman  2011
(30)  “A Wrinkle In Time”  Madeleine L’Engle  1962

The Scariest Stories You’ve Ever Heard”  Mark Mills  1988
Mysteries, Monsters, And Untold Secrets”  George Laycock  1978
A Veiled Deception” Annette Blair 2008
Larceny And Lace” Annette Blair 2009
Death By Diamonds” Annette Blair 2010
Skirting The Grave”  Annette Blair  2011
The Tale Of Oat Cake Crag”  Susan Wittig Albert  2011
The Tale Of Castle Cottage”  Susan Wittig Albert  2011
The Mystery Of Ireland’s Eye”  Shane Peacock  1999
(40)  “The Wishing Jar”  Penelope J. Stokes  2002

Gad’s Hall”  Norah Lofts  1977
The Haunting Of Gad’s Hall”  Norah Lofts  1978
It Takes A Witch”  Heather Blake  2012
(44)  “Ammie, Come Home”  Barbara Michaels  1968
~~~~

 

All we need are 12 books but this time, not set in the United Kingdom.  We are experiencing authors of British birth or residence.  I like plenty of them, some of the very best literary contributors and entertainers in the world.  Here are my ideas!

 

Death Island”  Robert Sutherland  1994
If Two Are Dead”  Robert Sutherland  1997
An Island In A Green Sea”  Mabel Esther Allan  1972
The Man In The Brown Suit”  Agatha Christie  1924
The Night The Gods Smiled”  Eric Wright  1983
Smoke Detector”  Eric Wright  1984
Death In The Old Country”  Eric Wright  1985
A Single Death”  Eric Wright  1986
Buried In Stone”  Eric Wright  1996
(10)  “Death Of A Hired Man”  Eric Wright  2001

Gad’s Hall”  Norah Lofts  1977
The Haunting Of Gad’s Hall”  Norah Lofts  1978
The Cater Street Hangman”  Anne Perry  1980
Callander Square”  Anne Perry  1980
Le Premier Nöel De La Famille LaTaupe”  Russell Hoban  1969
Death Of A Gossip”  Marion C. Beaton  1985
My Cousin Rachel”  Daphne Du Maurier  1951
The Twelve Deaths Of Christmas”  Marian Babson  1979
Phantom Horse Goes To Ireland”  Christine Pullein-Thompson  1972
The Fifth Dominion”  Clive Barker  1995
(21)  “Mind Over Murder”  Allison Kingsley  2011

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guilty, Out Of This World, British.

  1. Topcho says:

    Aww, thanks for the sweet, sweet words! Your comment always bring a smile on my face! Thanks for joining both of the challenges! I don’t have a clever word for it, like hat trick :D (I really enjoyed the comparison, lol! I hope in the end of the year it would still be a hat trick and not a total miss!) but I am sure you will nail those down :D

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

