Key Word, Motif, & Middle.

Hello from the throes of Carolyn’s challenge extravaganza!  Not the trio I launch February 1, 2014.  The slough in which this year will find me competing!  With myself.  That’s the form of competition I love.  Okay, I don’t mind a smidgen if I blow ranks out of the water and turn heads.  Multiple challenges are very much like a chess game:  seeing how many one book will fit.  If it were about who reads fastest or has time to read most, it wouldn’t be fun.  There is skill, planning, and selection involved and I’ve taken to these festivities like a duck to water.  Watch my posts and cheer me on, will you?  :)

I aim to finish what I start.  To succeed to the tune of 30-40, picky groups wouldn’t do.  Thus I strode past “key word” types before.  This will be my third year playing literary games however, so I stopped to examine them.  Neither the key words nor motifs are difficult.  They are expansive, granting much choice.  I’m excited to dive in.  My mind is whirling with what I might include in these remarkably inventive categories.  Happy new year, lady of “Key Word” and “Monthly Motif“!  I’d love to know if you picked them out of a pail, or sat down to brainstorm.

 

 

 JAN–  ANGEL, Secret, Clock, Black, Day, Wild
FEB–  Her, Life, Night, Red, Dark, ISLAND
MAR–  Forever, Inside, Storm, Sky, FLOWER, Stay
APR–  Star, Light, Never, Princess, Break, Clear
MAY–  Dawn, Death, End, Lost, Beautiful, AND
JUN–  Colour, Beyond, Found, Place, Grave, Road
JUL–  Crash, Ship, Prince, Whisper, Sun, Of
AUG–  Forgotten, Down, True, Run, Danger, Me
SEP–  Number, Take, Shadow, Ice, Who, After
OCT–  Ocean, Blood, Still, Out, The, Fate
NOV–  Into, Sound, Blue, House, My, Last
DEC–  Kiss, Fire, Ruin, White, Promise, Infinity.

The Stone Angel”  Margaret Laurence  1964
Mystery Of Disaster Island”  Ann Rivkin  1975
“The Moonflower”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1958
The Ghost & The Dead Deb”  Alice Kimberly  2005
 

 

 

 Jan – Around The World
Different country than that in which you live, author from a different country.
Feb – Award Winner
Read a book that has won recognition or a literary award.
Mar –  Fairy tales or fairy creatures
Read a fairy tale, a re-telling, or a book with fey/fairies in it.
Apr – Short & Sweet
Read a collection of short stories or anthologies.
May – Mystery, Murder, & Mayhem
A mystery, dies of mysterious causes, a mystery must be solved.
June –  A Long Journey
Characters take a trip, go on a quest, are on a journey toward something.
July – Assassins, Warriors, & Rebels
Main character is one of these things, or fights against one of these things. 
Aug – Alternate Reality
Set in the future, another planet, another dimension, in an unknown world.
Sep – Book To Film
Has a movie based off of it.  For an extra challenge, see the movie as well.
Oct – The Witching Hour
This year include a ‘witchy’ book in your scary reads – about or has witches.
Nov – An oldie but a goodie!
Published before 2000 you’ve wanted to read.  Or pick a book set in the past.
Dec – That’s a wrap!
Finish a series you’ve been meaning to finish, or the next book in a series.

 

The Man In The Brown Suit”  Agatha Christie  1924
A Jest Of God”  Margaret Laurence  1966
The Gift Of The Frost Fairy”  Sheila J. Bleeks  1976
The Tomorrow-Tamer”  Margaret Laurence  1963
The Quicksilver Pool”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1955
What The Witch Left”  Ruth Chew  1973
Le Premier Nöel De La Famille LaTaupe”  Russell Hoban  1969 

 

 

 

This young lady in the United States came up with a concept I like very much.  At first, I mistook “Middle” to mean ‘middle grade age’.  I looked again but passed, perceiving chunkster-length.  I considered thrice and understood.  It features books from average size to low-range chunkster.  I have ample candidates for 300-450 pages and delightedly join ‘Rachel’s’ fold.  Please watch for those candidates I add:  “Leafing Through“.

 

LEVELS:
Leafing Through  05
Cruising Through  10
Fly Through Pages  15
Never Stop Reading  20

 

 “Ghost Ship”  P.J. Alderman  2011
The Stone Angel”  Margaret Laurence  1964
The Quicksilver Pool”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1955
“My Cousin Rachel”  Daphne DuMaurier  1951

“The Curse Of The Pharaohs”  Elizabeth Peters  1981
“Come Like Shadows”  Welwyn Wilton Katz  1993
“The Vines Of Yarrabee”  Dorothy Eden  1969

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Key Word, Motif, & Middle.

  1. I understand how it is. If you are patient and put forth good content followers will come. I said yesterday, thanks for joining In The Middle. I’m in The Monthly Keyword so if you need ideas I have some on my challenge tab on my blog. The Monthly Keyword was my hardest challenge to complete last year. I think just because I put it off so long. I had a hard time finding books that I wanted to read for the challenge. I think this year is pretty easy and I’m hoping to complete it in November.

    • I’m not a new blogger – I meant a new hostess, leading my challenges. :) I look forward to both sides of the coin this year and know it will be a whole lot of fun. Thank you for your nice, conversational post. Your circle is one I look forward to.

  2. http://rachaelc94.blogspot.com/2014/02/kristin-hannah-and-in-middle-reading.html

    Here is the January link up for the In The Middle Challenge. I would love to have you link up any reviews you have written.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

