Ireland, One-Hundred, & Off!

I wonder why original hostess, Carrie, deleted reviews and comments collected for her long-running theme?  I loved being a part of it twice.  I hoped someone new would take the reins and spotted the new post today!  May we all enjoy Irish reading this 2014.  Hey, there was no way I was going to read a whole bunch of 450+ page Maeve Binchy novels without making them count in all of the right groups!  I’ll say “Shamrock” for now but I’m known to pleasantly surprise all of my efforts.

 

The Shamrock ~ 04
Luck O’ The Irish ~ 06
Kiss Blarney Stone ~ 08
Level Ceilidh ~ 10+

 

The Irish Cairn Murder”  Dicey Deere  2003
“Light A Penny Candle”  Maeve Binchy  1982
“Through The Door”  Jodi McIsaac  2012
  

 

Once I pondered something unusual I wanted to do, which cost a bit of money.  In an unusual philosophic moment of wisdom, my fiancé encouraged me with the most eloquent answer.  He’s right.  “You are solely guaranteed to lose if you don’t try at all”.  Many read in excess of 100 books annually.  For a wide variety of reasons including habit, I read at night.  However by the end of 2013 I squeezed in 100!  If I don’t reach that number every time, so what?  As a new hostess myself February 1, 2014;  I’m sure “Freda” has the same view.  She’s merely thrilled to have people join.  I hope you enjoy my titles all along.

  

 

These same books are going to go towards the creation by a lovely Australian, Bonnie.  Watch my progress additionally geared for “Off The Shelf 2014“!  Aha;  this time I got the right lists on the same post.  Can we say “Easier to update”?  Yeah!  I’m raising my participation level to a healthy 75, called “Flying Off“.

 

The House On The Cliff”  Leslie McFarlane  1927
The Flanders Panel”  Arturo Pérez-Reverte  1990
The Monsters Within”  Corvus Winchester  2013
Elsewhere”  William Peter Blatty  1999
Le Premier Nöel De La Famille LaTaupe”  Russell Hoban  1969
A Taste For Murder”  Claudia Bishop  1994
Angel’s Verdict”  Mary Stanton  2010
Angel Condemned”  Mary Stanton  2011
The Irish Cairn Murder”  Dicey Deere  2003
(10)  “Ghost Ship”  P.J. Alderman  2011

Witch In The House”  Ruth Chew  1975
Then Came Two Women”  Charlotte Armstrong  1962
Mystery Of Disaster Island”  Ann Rivkin  1975
Vampires Of Ottawa”  Eric Wilson  1984
The Green Gables Detective”  Eric Wilson  1987
Iggy’s House”  Judy Blume  1970
The Witch Of Blackbird Pond”  Elizabeth George Speare  1958
The Scariest Stories You’ve Ever Heard”  Mark Mills  1988
Aunt Dimity Digs In”  Nancy Atherton  1995
(20)  “Eggs In Purgatory”  Laura Childs  2008

Code Red At The Supermall”  Eric Wilson  1988
The Secret Of Red Gate Farm”  Mildred A. Wirt  1931
The Secret Of The Old Mill”  Leslie McFarlane  1927
The Gift Of The Frost Fairy”  Sheila J. Bleeks  1976
The Man In The Brown Suit”  Agatha Christie  1924
What The Witch Left”   Ruth Chew   1973
Gunpowder Green”  Laura Childs  2002
Terror In Winnipeg”  Eric Wilson  1979
Cold Midnight In Vieux Québec”  Eric Wilson  1989
(30)  “The Mystery Of Pony Hollow”  Lynn Hall  1978

The Stone Angel”  Margaret Laurence  1964
Crocodile On The Sandbank”  Elizabeth Peters  1975
The Tomorrow-Tamer”  Margaret Laurence  1963
A Jest Of God”  Margaret Laurence  1966
The Quicksilver Pool”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1955
The Clue In The Diary”  Mildred A. Wirt  1931
The Ghost & The Dead Deb”  Alice Kimberly  2005
Sea Jade”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1964
Eerie Tales Of The Old West”  Emily, Joe West  1991
(40)  “Pleasing The Ghost”  Sharon Creech  1996

Time For Andrew”  Mary Downing Hahn  1994
My Cousin Rachel”  Daphne Du Maurier  1951
The Doll In The Garden”  Mary Downing Hahn  1989
Ghost Of A Chance”  Yasmine Galenorn  2003
Mystery Of The Golden Horn”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1962
The Other Side Of Dark”  Joan LoweRy Nixon  1986
The Curse Of The Pharaohs”  Elizabeth Peters  1981
Something The Cat Dragged In”  Charlotte MacLeod  1983
The Cat Who Could Read Backwards”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1966
(50)  “The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1967

Cat Who Turned On And Off”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1968
The Cat Who Saw Red”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1986
That Quail, Robert”  Margaret A. Stanger  1966
Caught Dead In Philadelphia”  Gillian Roberts  1987
Death On Demand”  Carolyn G. Hart  1987
“The Merlot Murders”  Ellen Crosby  2006
“The Tale Of Oat Cake Crag”  Susan Wittig Albert  2010
“Light A Penny Candle”  Maeve Binchy  1982
“The Curse Of The Giant Hogweed”  Charlotte MacLeod  1985
(60)  “Death Island”  Robert Sutherland  1994

“Mariana”  Susanna Kearsley  1994
“The Black Joke”  Farley Mowat  1962
“Two Moons In August”  Martha Brooks  1991
(64)  “Come Like Shadows”  Welwyn Wilton Katz  1993

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ireland, One-Hundred, & Off!

  1. booksnyc says:

    Thanks for joining the challenge again! I am happy to be hosting for the first time!

  2. I want to stop by and thank you for joining the in the middle challenge. I hope you will share what level you are aiming for. By the looks of your blog you have signed up for quite a few reading challenges this year. I have signed up for quite a few myself but nothing too far out of my reach. I always leave a comment on their blog after they put their link in the linky above. Again thanks for joining the in The Middle Challenge. I wish you the best of luck on your goal whatever it may be.

    • No requirement at all. You know how it is to be new: just letting people know it’s there. You bet, I’ll update my “Middle” books regularly. You have definitely taken the time to respond with a personal touch. Awesome!

  3. fredamans says:

    Fantastic to have you part of the challenge. I’m with your husband and believe you never know you can do it until you try! Wishing you the best in reaching your reading goals!

  4. Bonnie says:

    Hi Carolyn. Thank you for joining in again with Off the Shelf! Your link has been added to the sign-up and you’re number is 2 :) I hope you’ve had a wonderful holiday season and Happy New Year to you.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

