Women & Witches!

It will be a pleasure to return in 2014 to a great pair of literary themes.  I’m re-visiting ‘Valentina’ in Italy for “Women” and thrice joining ‘Melissa’ in the USA for “Witches”.  I’d be delighted if you subscribe to this blog to see how I do and the authors with whom I journey!  Merry Christmas to all of you!  Carolyn.

   Women Library Ladder 2014

 BABY GIRL  01 – 05
GIRL POWER  06 – 15
SUPER GIRL  16 – 20
WONDER WOMAN  21+

 
Valentina is highlighting the literary work of women in any form.  Since my own gender is what I read most naturally, her augmented competition level is still a joyous walk in the park for this gal!  Higher, Valentina!

Mystery Of Disaster Island”  Ann Rivkin  1975
The Gift Of The Frost Fairy”  Sheila J. Bleeks  1976
Time For Andrew”  Mary Downing Hahn  1994
The Doll In The Garden”  Mary Downing Hahn  1989
What The Witch Left”  Ruth Chew  1973
Witch In The House”  Ruth Chew  1975
The Tomorrow-Tamer”  Margaret Laurence  1963
The Stone Angel”  Margaret Laurence  1964
A Jest Of God”  Margaret Laurence  1966
(10)  “The Ghost & The Dead Deb”  Alice Kimberly  2005

Something The Cat Dragged In”  Charlotte MacLeod  1983
“The Curse Of The Giant Hogweed”  Charlotte MacLeod  1985
The Quicksilver Pool”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1955
Sea Jade”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1964
Mystery Of The Golden Horn”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1962
Then Came Two Women”  Charlotte Armstrong  1962
“That Quail, Robert”  Margaret A. Stanger  1966
Aunt Dimity Digs In”  Nancy Atherton  1995
Pleasing The Ghost”  Sharon Creech  1996
(20)  “Light A Penny Candle”  Maeve Binchy  1982

Crocodile On The Sandbank”  Elizabeth Peters  1975
The Curse Of The Pharaohs”  Elizabeth Peters  1981
The Cat Who Could Read Backwards”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1966
“The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1967
“The Cat Who Turned On And Off”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1968
“The Cat Who Saw Red”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1986
The Clue In The Diary”  Mildred A. Wirt  1931
The Secret Of Red Gate Farm”  Mildred A. Wirt  1931
“Mariana”  Susanna Kearsley  1994
(30)  “The Man In The Brown Suit”  Agatha Christie  1924

“Death On Demand”  Carolyn G. Hart  1987
Ghost Ship”  P.J. Alderman  2011
My Cousin Rachel”  Daphne Du Maurier  1951
The Other Side Of Dark”  Joan Lowrey Nixon  1986
Ghost Of A Chance”  Yasmine Galenorn  2003
“The Merlot Murders”  Ellen Crosby  2006
“The Tale Of Oat Cake Crag”  Susan Wittig Albert  2010
The Mystery Of Pony Hollow”  Lynn Hall  1978
Eggs In Purgatory”  Laura Childs  2008
(40)  “Gunpowder Green”  Laura Childs  2002

Angel’s Verdict”  Mary Stanton  2010
Angel Condemned”  Mary Stanton  2011
A Taste For Murder”  Claudia Bishop  1994
Eerie Tales Of The Old West”  Emily & Joe West  1991
“Caught Dead In Philadelphia”  Gillian Roberts  1987
Iggy’s House”  Judy Blume  1970
The Witch Of Blackbird Pond”  Elizabeth George Speare  1958
The Irish Cairn Murder”  Dicey Deere  2003
~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

THE LEVELS:
Initiate:  01 – 05 books
Maiden:  06 – 10 books
Mother:  11 – 15 books
Crone:  16 – 20 books

 
When I first sampled Melissa’s theme;  I interpreted any-sized book and content.  It seems trickier:  a full book, the witch must be a protagonist, or heavier content.  But this is a fun subject.  I’ll list what I have that might pertain to witches.  Both of these ladies’ banners are gorgeous.

 

What The Witch Left”  Ruth Chew  1973
Witch In The House”  Ruth Chew  1975
The Tomorrow-Tamer”  Margaret Laurence  1963
Ghost Of A Chance”  Yasmine Galenorn  2003
The Witch Of Blackbird Pond”  Elizabeth George Speare  1958

“Tattered And Torn”  Juliet Blackwell 2013
“Come Like Shadows” Welwyn Wilton Katz 1993
“Rosemary’s Witch”  Ann Turner 1991
“The Witch’s House”  Charlotte Armstrong 1964
“It Takes A Witch”   Heather Blake 2012
“A Witch Before Dying”  Heather Blake 2012
“The Good, The Bad, & Witchy” Heather Blake 2013
“Ghosts, Werewolves, Witches”  Jo-Anne Christensen 2001
“The Goblin Wood”  Hilari Bell  2003
“Legend Of Sleepy Hollow” Washington Irving 1820

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Women & Witches!

  1. Cath says:

    Funnily enough I grabbed Whispers in the Sand off my tbr pile a couple of days ago, and added it to my pile for your ‘mysteries’ challenge.

    Thinking seriously about doing this ‘Women’ challenge. I want to read more books by Edith Wharton next year and signing up for 1 – 5 books I could concentrate exclusively on her books. It might be fun. A bit busy at the moment but after Christmas I’ll decide.

    • Hello Cath! My dear, if you keep bringing out enchanting subject matter, you will find yourself in my “Ethereal” group as well! At this stage, I’m grateful for all of you ladies who have joined early. I’m going to have such fun with my complete trio. Merry Christmas from Canada!

      • Cath says:

        It wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest if I do end up in your Ethereal group, I’m joining so many challenges for next year that I feel like I’m flinging them around like confetti!

        Just sitting here drinking my first cup of tea of the day and thinking how much I’m looking forward to reading my books next year. And getting to know people like yourself via these new challenges, our blogs, Goodreads etc. Merry Christmas to you too, Carolyn. :-)

  2. Hi Carolyn and welcome again to the Women Challenge :)
    Happy reading!

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

  3. If you are interested in, you could have a look to the challenge I launched, the “2015 Women Challenge”. Have fun with me and my challenge! ^_^

    http://www.peekabook.it/2014/12/2015-women-challenge.html

    Bye and enjoy your books!

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

