Women & Reading Fixes

The year 2013 has introduced me to wonderful new authors, the great joy of new peers, and highly unique reading groups.  “Women” hosted in Italy and “Quick Fix” hosted in the USA are excellent.  This is my post to close those challenges with my mission quadrupled!  This page will also introduce my participation in “Quick Fix 2014“.  For brevity, instead of listing all of the books that qualified for these groups;  I will link my original posts bearing that information.

 Women 2013

This group was created because the Italian hostess noticed she primarily read male writers.  Women writers happen to be my mainstay so this was a walk in the park!  Almost every title I zoomed through this year counted.  The highest level is 16+ books, “Wonder Woman”.  I’ll pass 60 before 2013 is out.  Enjoy my reviews.
https://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/heroines-good-food/

 

*****  QUICK FIX 2013 *****

The American creator of this group has a white tabby who looks exactly like my eldest kitten!  She observed that many challenges centre around reading huge books (“chunksters”).  She feels it’s worthwhile to consider brief reading, pages we get through with ease.  Her maximum level in 2013 is 20+, “Gorilla Glue”.  I’ll finish with 80 this month, December.  Please view those titles here.
https://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/vintage-quick/

 

 

 When I have found a fun and inspiring group, I’m delighted to continue with it.  Please stay tuned for my entries into “Quick Fix 2014“!  Once I’m through concluding my plethora of memberships this month, I will turn to laying out titles.  I’m very pleased that the top level has been raised to 30+ books.  I’ll take it!

 

The Gift Of The Frost Fairy”  Sheila J. Bleeks  1976
Mystery Of Disaster Island”  Ann Rivkin  1975
Le Premier Nöel De La Famille LaTaupe”  Russell Hoban  1969
What The Witch Left”   Ruth Chew   1973
Witch In The House”  Ruth Chew  1975
Terror In Winnipeg”  Eric Wilson  1979
Vampires Of Ottawa”  Eric Wilson  1984
The Green Gables Detective”  Eric Wilson  1987
Code Red At The Supermall”  Eric Wilson  1988
(10)  “Cold Midnight In Vieux Québec”  Eric Wilson  1989

Then Came Two Women”  Charlotte Armstrong  1962
Aunt Dimity Digs In”  Nancy Atherton  1995
The House On The Cliff”  Leslie McFarlane  1927
The Monsters Within”  Corvus Winchester  2013
Elsewhere”  William Peter Blatty  1999
The Witch Of Blackbird Pond”  Elizabeth George Speare  1958
The Scariest Stories You’ve Ever Heard”  Mark Mills  1988
Angel’s Verdict”  Mary Stanton  2010
Angel Condemned”  Mary Stanton  2011
(20)  “A Taste For Murder”  Claudia Bishop  1994

The Secret Of Red Gate Farm”  Mildred A. Wirt  1931
The Secret Of The Old Mill”  Leslie McFarlane  1927
The Man In The Brown Suit”  Agatha Christie  1924
The Mystery Of Pony Hollow”  Lynn Hall  1978
Eggs In Purgatory”  Laura Childs  2008
Gunpowder Green”  Laura Childs  2002
Iggy’s House”  Judy Blume  1970
The Flanders Panel”  Arturo Pérez-Reverte  1990
The Irish Cairn Murder”  Dicey Deere  2003
(30)  “Crocodile On The Sandbank”  Elizabeth Peters  1975

The Tomorrow-Tamer”  Margaret Laurence  1963
A Jest Of God”  Margaret Laurence  1966
The Clue In The Diary”  Mildred A. Wirt  1931
The Ghost & The Dead Deb”  Alice Kimberly  2005
Sea Jade”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1964
Eerie Tales Of The Old West”  Emily, Joe West  1991
Pleasing The Ghost”  Sharon Creech  1996
Time For Andrew”  Mary Downing Hahn  1994
The Doll In The Garden”  Mary Downing Hahn  1989
(40)  “Ghost Of A Chance”  Yasmine Galenorn  2003

Mystery Of The Golden Horn”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1962
The Other Side Of Dark”  Joan LoweRy Nixon  1986
Something The Cat Dragged In”  Charlotte MacLeod  1983
The Cat Who Could Read Backwards”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1966
“The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1967
“Cat Who Turned On And Off”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1968
“The Cat Who Saw Red”  Lilian Jackson Braun  1986
“That Quail, Robert”  Margaret A. Stanger  1966
“Caught Dead In Philadelphia”  Gillian Roberts  1987
(50)  “Death On Demand”  Carolyn G. Hart  1987

“The Tale Of Oat Cake Crag”  Susan Wittig Albert  2010
“Curse Of The Giant Hogweed”  Charlotte MacLeod  1985
“Death Island”  Robert Sutherland  1994
“The Black Joke”  Farley Mowat  1962

 

*  I will begin 2014 as a first-time hostess of my own 3 themes!  See my blog menus for details.  :)  https://cmriedel.wordpress.com/riedel-reading-themes/

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Women & Reading Fixes

  1. I was a bit surprised at how many people were able to read so many short books. I had found that I don’t own many small books, so my own goal for this year was a bit difficult. Good Luck with your goals!

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

