Daring to host! How to join.

Reading challenges are Olympics for book-lovers.  They aren’t difficult.  They’re an outlet to go wild with our passion!  We sign-up because we like recommendations, or some of us have enough stock at home to last a decade of blizzards.  We exit charity sales by the box and want reading circles to match THEM.  That’s me.  I utilize what’s on hand.  This is best accomplished with wide open games; no struggling for a book to fit.

 

McCartney & Spirit 2006

As I conclude my second year partaking in these pastimes, I know what’s in abundance and pondered angles I would love to approach differently.
Lord have mercy, I’m going to try my hand at hosting! 
Watch for a post and help me launch three brand new circles!

Silver Cloud* Click for a ‘Silver Cloud’ recipe. *

 

For newcomers to this sport:  seek themes highlighting genres you like.  The challenge is usually quantity.  Think of these circles as a places to report what you’d be reading anyway.  If you have a blog:  post about the theme you’ll join.  You might name a few books but can update those all along.  Copy the URL of your “sign-up post”, for the ‘linky form’ at the host website.

Love, Top Of King Shelf

Most groups want reviews.  Use Book Depository, Goodreads, Amazon to find each book and review under it.  A line is fine.  There is normally a linky form for reviews at the host website.  Add your review URL and that’s all there is to it.  Join, read, review, link.  A “read-a-thon” is a brief event.  A “reading challenge” gives you a year, often new year’s day to new year’s eve.  To reduce a traffic jam at Christmas, my activities will run February to February.  :)

Marigold Paperback Jan-15-13

If you don’t have a blog site (or only ‘facebook’, solely visible to members):  comment at the host website.  My pages will display a list of participants independent of the sign-up linky.  If you use the internet, absolutely any interested party may join.  Now, what about my subjects?

Eden Gilman Whitney

It’s rare to find mainstream novels among non-fiction.  Few expect the spiritual with the paranormal.  Word games request one colour per year, for example.  I have several titles with green, blue, black, red…  and crave an outlet for them all – next year.  I have designed themes in the areas of:  word SPECTRUMS, MYSTERY, and the ETHEREAL to welcome material that was traditionally skipped!  From biographies, study books, to the latest fiction:  we’ll put it all in the mix!
Yours Sincerely, Carolyn M. Riedel.

Love Spilling Books Sep-8-12

 

* The kitty family members shown in my photographs are:
McCartney (Siamese snowshoe), Spirit (grey tabby), Love (as an infant),
Marigold (his Mother), and her son Love sitting in books as an adult!  :-)

http://www.cmriedel.wordpress.com/riedel-reading-themes/

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daring to host! How to join.

  1. Topcho says:

    You will be an awesome challenge host! I love that it will start in February – after my exam session :D Can’t wait for more info!

  2. I love your idea of challenges as “reading circles” — it really gives a name to why I also join many. Joining just to tackle a really difficult subject or genre isn’t the only reason people join challenges — I love being among like-minded readers as I read throughout the year :)

    • Thanks so much! I don’t know about you but I have no affinity for sports. It really excites me to compete in *my* field. And you understand my key point. A traditionally solitary pastime has become a whole community of involvement and socialization.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

