Tales & New Scotland!

Here is a dual post, to save my readers from posting traffic, to enter into a fresh reading circle and to close a thought-provoking one:  “TELLING TALES“.  Therein, participants were asked for material based on fairy tales, old stories, and indeed the stories of origin and fairy tales themselves.  The hostess wasn’t picky inviting any whiff we felt was fitting.  I surpassed Bride Troll 5 very well.  I expect to close at 30 and have already quintupled my challenge!  Please enjoy my entries and reviews via my first post.

Pixie  02
Bridge Troll  05
Princess  10
Prince Charming  15
Evil Queen  20
Dragon  30

https://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/dusty-tales-pre-1960/
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 

 

I have always found a great deal captivating about this country.  In 2009 when my fiancé & I were invited to a wedding in England;  we siezed the chance to go all the way north to see Inverness!  But just upon entering the country, it was so very beautiful:  every image a postcard, sheep amassed in even more terrific amubundance than in England.  Bridges atop highways so that cows can peruse meadows on both sides with no danger and the hilarity of seeing them pass.  The kindness of the proprietress of the Doune hotel and it’s aged grandeur.  The cat who steps right inside the cars of visitors to Doune castle.  The safari park where animals roam freely and the emotional honour of beholding giraffes at last.

A first time hostess told me of a reading group she is starting with this theme so dear to my heart.  Here’s to a journey through Scotland with “Peggy”, who tells us Scotland is voting for national independence!  Next visit, there will be no disappointment that there was no sign announcing passage into the country and my passport will be stamped with their name!  I’ll promise “Highlander“.  Let’s see how high I rise.  :)

 

Just A Keek:  1-4
The Highlander:  5-8
The Hebridean:  9-12
Ben Nevis:  13+

 

Death Island”  Robert Sutherland  1994
Come Like Shadows”  Welwyn Wilton Katz  1993
“The Cater Street Hangman”  Anne Perry  1979
“Callander Square”  Anne Perry  1980
“An Island In A Green Sea”  Mabel Esther Allan  1972
“Kilt Dead”  Kaitlyn Dunnett 2007
“Death Of A Gossip”  Marion C. Beaton  1985  * (disliked)
(8)  “The 7th Mourner”  Dorothy Gardiner  1958

“Prevailing Spirits”  Giles Gordon  1976
“Scottish Ghosts”  Dane Love  2009
“Legend In Green Velvet”  Elizabeth Peters  1976
“Mystery On The Isle Of Skye”  Phyllis A. Whitney  1960
“If Two Are Dead”  Robert Sutherland  1997

“Scone Cold Dead”  Kaitlyn Dunnett  2008
“The Secret Portrait”  Lillian Stewart Carl  2006
“The Hills Is Lonely”  Lillian Beckwith  1959
“Green Hand”  Lillian Beckwith  1967
“Lightly Poached”  Lillian Beckwith  1973

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature, Tradition / Legend and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tales & New Scotland!

  1. Peggy@Peggy Ann's Post says:

    Carolyn, I’ve read all of Beckwith’s books! Very funny. Shadowy Horses is very good too! Love Kearsley. Have you read The Winter Sea? It’s set in Scotland too. Read every MC Beaton too! Will be looking for Sutherland now!

    • Cath says:

      You have some interesting choices there. I’d completely forgotten Lilian Beckwith’s books… will see if my library has any of those. I’m really excited about the challenges we’re all doing next year. Should mean a lot of group fun.

  2. Peggy, as a Canadian I collected Susanna’s suite. I’ve savoured digging into it and shall traverse in order. She does indeed cover many countries and eras.

    Cath, I have had “The Hills Is Lonely” for years. I acquired the next for a song, this summer outside a grocery store for charity! I have no doubt I’ll love Lillian. I’m grateful for all who join my 3 groups and appreciate those in which I am a guest.

  3. Inverness and Portree are my favorites. Love the quaintness of Portree.

    I don’t know any of the books you listed. I have read two other books that I recall about Scotland. The Island House by Posie Grame Evans and Angel Harp by Michael Phillips. LOVED them both.

    Have a fun challenge. Nice blog.

    I will be only “hovering” over all the posts. :) I do love Scotland, though. I never do well with challenges. I stress too much about it.

    Have a great day.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

