Cozy + Animals In Literature!

I have always adored animals, valuing their life equally to people.  A beautiful family of cats are family members to my fiancé & I in rural Canada.  One of our hobbies is reading.  My ultimate favourite literature is paranormal;  real observations or fictional, followed by mystery.  I prefer intelligently-plotted classics or emotionally suspenseful gothics but found myself liking a great many authors in the ‘cozy’ genre.  There is fine writing any place if you look keenly;  some novels so complicated or bold, I doubt they belong in the genre.

The ‘cozy’ categorization (although its name has never sat well with me) contains a good share of animals and the paranormal.  I’m pleased to belong to all of Yvonne’s “Socrates” groups, named after her very special cat.   Herein, please find my closure of her currently running “What An Animal” circle.  This page will also contain my title candidates for “Crusing Through The Cozies” 2014.  Yvonne, thank you for making fun events in a subect that so many of us enjoy!

 

Original post:  https://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/socrates-x-iii/

The Foundling Fox”    Irina Korschunow 1982
The Case Of The Cat’s Meow”   Crosby Newell Bonsall  1978
Ghost Town Treasure”  Clyde Robert Bulla 1957
Forward, Shakespeare!”  Jean Little  2005
Red Fox And His Canoe”  Nathaniel Benchley 1964
Time For The White Egret”  Natalie Savage Carlson  1978
Jacob Two-2 Meets The Hooded Fang” Mordecai Richler 1975
Jacob Two-Two & The Dinosaur” Mordecei Richler 1987
The Secret Of Shadow Ranch”  Mildred A. Wirt 1931
Stuart Little”   E.B. White  1945
In A Witch’s Wardrobe”  Juliet Blackwell 2012
Mew Is For Murder”    Clea Simon 2005
The Snow Goose”   Paul Gallico 1940
The Haunting At Cliff House”  Karleen Bradford 1985
Charlotte’s Web”  E.B. White  1952
Pretty Poison”   Joyce, Jim Lavene 2005
Fer-De-Lance”   Rex Stout  1934
Defending Angels”   Mary Stanton 2008
Angel’s Advocate”   Mary Stanton 2009
“Avenging Angels”   Mary Stanton 2010
“Kilroy And The Gull”  Nathaniel Benchley 1977

 

 Please stay tuned for the titles I draft next month.  :-)

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Animal Rights, Animals Or Pets, Book / Novel / Literature, Cats and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cozy + Animals In Literature!

  1. yvonne473 says:

    Thanks for signing up once again! Good luck in 2014!

  2. Carolyn I keep thinking about and helpful you have been and I didn’t feel well enough to do anything about my reviews. I have to put on today that are being release today. I have added a tumblr account not sure of the url to access it. I find it easier to used than WordPress.
    Betty Louise

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

