Using the apostrophe.

I’ve been on-line a long time:  IRC, ICQ, MSN, LiveVideo, Myspace, Nexopia, fan sites, bulletin boards.  A universal issue:  apostrophe misuse!  Comprehension is troubled enough to offer to help.  English’s worst problem is almost NOBODY correctly employs the word “there’s“!  Conjugation of this abbreviation is so terrible, it’s rarely right even among talk show hosts or news broadcasters, for whom language is livelihood and professional tool.  It isn’t hard!  :)  I can give the basics briefly and clearly.
 

THE APOSTROPHE DENOTES POSSESSION.  That is it.
My cat’s leash.
Her horse’s favourite food.
His brother’s car.
Your friend’s blog.
Our garden’s bounty.


IF YOU WANT TO MAKE A WORD PLURAL, JUST ADD AN S!
  Easy, right?
Hello, my friends.
They are my giraffes.
I love these books.
My gardens thrive.
Hummingbirds enjoy our yard.
 

THERE’SABBREVIATES THE VERB THERE IS”.  IT IS SINGULAR!
There’s a hole in the bucket dear Liza.
There’s an envelope on the table for you.
There is fruit, if you would like any.
There is enough money in my wallet.
There’s a cat on the couch.


IF A SUBJECT IS PLURAL
, PLEASE USE THE PLURAL VERBTHERE ARE”.
There are leftovers in the fridge.
There are a lot of great websites.
Oh, there are our friends at the door.
There are plenty of vegetables in our gardens.
There are multiple cats on the couch.

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Language / Grammar / Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Using the apostrophe.

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I must admit I am lazy when it comes to apostropes though I do know how to use them correctly.

  2. John says:

    This wouldn’t be a problem if we had a contraction for “there are” as we do do for “we are.”
    “There’re leftovers in the fridge.”

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

