Speculative fiction, a new term!

I never heard of ‘speculative fiction’.  Isn’t all fiction speculation?  After naughty peers here advertised colourful banners;  I had to ask about this one.  I admit I’m a trekkie.  (No really.  I get ALL the jokes on “The Big Bang Theory”‘Comicon’ is finally coming to my province and I’m wondering if I need a uniform.  I don’t own a set of Vulcan ears or any costume but saying this much outs me sufficiently).

Oddly I love great science fiction film and TV.  (Late Star Trek included, like “Voyager” and “Enterprise“.  You aren’t a fan if you cite ‘the old ones’).  But I don’t read it.  It never appealed to me, maybe because there’d be so much of it to collect.  If that’s what ‘speculative fiction’ was, I hoped quantity was low in a genre I don’t buy.  My rule is, that reading festivities draw from existing works in my personal library;  which is huge and not difficult to do.

 

January 1  –  December 31
http://baffledbooks.com/post/12988171493/speculativefiction2012

 

The host gives a great description.  For a vast reader, I’m surprisingly unfamiliar with many of them.  Good news:  plenty of them suit me so I’m joining!  As usual, I have permission to count reading accomplished before signing-up, in keeping with a January 1 timeline.  With that being so, I’m going to shoot for level III!  I’m aiming for ‘content’!  I’ll let you know which novels qualify and will link you to any of my reviews about them.

 
******** GENRES ********
Science Fiction:  cyberpunk, time travel, alternative history, space opera
Fantasy Fiction:  urban, magic realism, mythical fantasy, steampunk
Horror Fiction:  paranormal, gothic literature, splatterpunk
Supernatural Fiction      •Superhero Fiction
Utopian / Dystopian Fiction
Apocalyptic / Post-Apocalyptic Fiction

 
MISSION LEVELS!
•Nosey~            3 novels
•Excited~          6 novels
•Content~       12 novels
•In Nirvana~   24 novels
•Obsessed~    48 novels

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

