The girl is Irish too?

January 1  –  November 30

 
Choose Your Commitment Level:
Shamrock level:                 4 books
Luck o’ the Irish level:     6 books
Kiss Blarney stone level:  8 books
Ceilidh level:                  10+ books

 

My last name may be German but another part is Irish.  Even though this is the most tricky of all to qualify from my already-stocked library;  I can do it!  My personal collection of books is that good.  I can find 4 separate Irish authors, when the rules only seek a sum of 4 Irish books.  I’ll take the Shamrock level folks!

You know how one family tree is less known than others?  This is it.  I’m absorbing a whole new flavour of literature and scouting the mysterious part of my heritage.

All I need is this post for “Carrie’s” website, reviews, and a wrap-up later.  Short stories, poems, Irish characters, and Ireland setting count.  They stretch my usual genres and library’s resources but I accept the challenge!  I have Frank McCourt’s “Angela’s Ashes” but it seems dreary.  Tune in as I attempt the following.

MARY LAVIN               “Collected Stories”, 1971  (a first edition)!
GEMMA O’CONNOR    “Walking On Water”, 2001
MAEVE BINCHY           “Aches & Pains”, 1999
MAEVE BINCHY           “The Lilac Bus”
MAEVE BINCHY           “Dublin 4”
ANNE ENRIGHT           “The Gathering”, 2007
B. LEECH, G. SADLER  “It Must Have Been McNutt”, 1974  (legend by non-Irish)
LYN HAMILTON
          “The Celtic Riddle”  2000  (Canadian but set in Ireland)

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The girl is Irish too?

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Angela’s Ashes is a wonderful book though it is a little dark.

  2. melissaseclecticbookshelf says:

    I participated in this one last year! Loved stretching my boundaries and embracing my Irish side:)

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

