A Quail, Moon, & Ghosts!

I mentioned discovering a plethora of festivities.  The prize for joining ‘Once Upon A Read-A-Thon’ is $60.00 from Amazon.ca!  Others are for comaraderie (I hope folks comment and subscribe!) and sheer incentive to read.  You must have heard of my library with a proud variety needing to be opened!  If theme / mission is met, one book can satisfy many reading circles.  I cherish all eras.  My picks for ‘Once Upon A Read-A-Thon’ were:

REBECCA M. HALE           “How To Moon A Cat” – 2011
DARRYLL WALSH             “Ghosts Of Nova Scotia” – 2000 (Canadian content) 
MARGARET A. STANGER  “That Quail, Robert” – 1966 (true story you must read)
MARION NAISMITH         “A Dream Of Unicorns” – 1968.

I realized July 9-11 amounts to 3 days.  With gardening to do, 4 titles are a reach.  I finished “How To Moon A Cat“;  satisfaction!  It dragged from a previous read-a-thon with too many contests.  I paused it to devour “The Trouble With Magic” by Madelyn Alt, for a witch theme.  I thought a review was required within June for a giveaway.  I’ve gladly concluded Rebecca’s novel, third in a San Francisco series.

I began Darryll Walsh’s “Ghosts Of Nova Scotia” tonight and will easily finish by afternoon.  A study of east coast ghost activity, it serves research for my novel.  It suits a Canadian author event this month and a ‘new author’ challenge on-going this year.  I’ll save Marion Naismith’s book.  After I plant our last two flowerboxes (the seeds are ready), I’ll start Margaret A. Stanger’s book tomorrow.  She knew the elderly couple who raised a quail from birth!

Robert was the love of their lives (named before gender was known) and became famous in the 60s!  She had a guestbook of visitors until her death, every single one very charmed to meet her.  I peeked to ensure it isn’t sad.  It isn’t.  She nearly reached age 4 and died in her peaceful bed.  Margaret babysat Robert and asked to write their story so everyone can know her.

That Quail, Robert” was the most famous real animal a short time ago.  Please find a copy like I did (mine was 50 cents)!  Make sure generations after us don’t allow the memory of this beautiful bird to fade!

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Animals Or Pets, Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

