Count on me for recommendations!

Hello from the prairies!  When it comes to books, music, and films:  whether you borrow, hit garage sales, or build a library like me;  personal recommendations carry more weight than those critical reviews printed by our newspapers.

Chris DeBurgh, a great songwriting hero of mine, said around 1986 that critics are meaningless.  “He never met a critic who paid for his own concert ticket”.  He cherishes the fan who cares enough to buy an album, recalling what a low income was like.  “When you put out money to get someone’s album, it really meant something to you“.  This interview impressed me and obviously stayed with me, even though I already had the impression of him as a down-to-Earth sweetheart.

I check customer reviews (non-spoilers) because they differ from professional ones.  They’ve been informative enough to change my mind and led me to other artists.  Since they have guided my selection, or furnished great discussions for so long:  it occurred to me that I could do the same for others.

I’ll share thoughts on what I’ve read.  I’ll recommend authors and titles.  I’ve always wanted to be a published author and for now, am an avid reader.  I’ll write on any number of topics and hope you watch for my blogs and enjoy them.  I’m thrilled you found this one!  :)

 


See:
http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=AlyshaeBorealis

About RIEDEL Fascination

I cherish animals, plants, reading, music and free spirituality. I welcome you for articles, literary activities, and interaction! Surrounding ourselves with good people is a delight. I occasionally review at The Book Depository.
This entry was posted in Book / Novel / Literature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Count on me for recommendations!

  1. seapunk2 says:

    Aaarrrrrgggghhhh!! I’m in need of better glasses, because all I can read is my own comment! HELP!

Everyone can comment! Use an e-address to sign in. :)

